Routes 41 through 48
Click here for a key to the symbols used. "LRN" refers to the Pre-1964 Legislative Route Number. "US" refers to a US Shield signed route. "I" refers to an Eisenhower Interstate signed route. "Route" usually indicates a state shield signed route, but said route may be signed as US or I. Previous Federal Aid (pre-1992) categories: Federal Aid Interstate (FAI); Federal Aid Primary (FAP); Federal Aid Urban (FAU); and Federal Aid Secondary (FAS). Current Functional Classifications (used for aid purposes): Principal Arterial (PA); Minor Arterial (MA); Collector (Col); Rural Minor Collector/Local Road (RMC/LR). Note that ISTEA repealed the previous Federal-Aid System, effective in 1992, and established the functional classification system for all public roads.
41 · 42 · 43 · 44 · 45 · 46 · 47 · 48
From Route 1 in Morro Bay to Route 46.
This segment remains as defined in 1963.
In 1934, Route 41 was signed along the route from Cambria to Yosemite Park, via Paso Robles and Fresno. This routing ran along Santa Rosa Creek Road (which was LRN 33) and in 1964 became Route 46. At some point around 1970, it was rerouted onto the current Route 46.
Between Route 1 near Morro Bay and US 101 near Atascadero , post-1964 Route 41 was signed as US 466, and was LRN 125. Prior to 1959, it appears that US 466 ran along LRN 125 between Atascadero and Shandon (present-day Route 41). Around 1959, US 466 was rerouted to run co-signed with US 101 to Paso Robles, where it continued along post-1964 Route 46 as US 466 to Shandon (LRN 33). Shandon is currently where Route 46 meets Route 41. US 466 was signed as part of the initial signage of US highways in the mid-1930s. LRN 125 was defined in 1933.
Between Paso Robles and Shandon, what is now Route 46 was signed as Route 41. It is unclear whether in 1959 LRN 125 between Atascadero and Shandon was resigned as Route 41 when US 466 was shifted to Paso Robles. It sure looks like it. This was part of the original 1934 signage of Route 41.
Between Shandon and Cholame, the route was cosigned as Route 41/US 466, and was LRN 33. This was part of the original signage of US 466. This is now cosigned Route 41 / Route 46, and legislatively Route 46.
A portion of this route in the city of Atascadero once ran along Business Route 101. Until 2003, eastbound Route 41 crossed US 101 and then turned left on El Camino Real/Business Route 101, then turned right on West Mall Road, and continued onto Capistrano Avenue. It then crossed under the railroad, turned right on Sycamore Road, turned left onto the stub of Curbaril Avenue, continued across a bridge which no longer exists, turned left on Rocky Canyon Road, and then turned right on the short portion of Creston Eureka Road and continued east on the existing main portion of Creston Eureka Road. The westbound routing was identical, in reverse. Since then, a new routing has been constructed. This routing includes a bridge across the Salinas River, the connecting road south of that bridge to the intersection of Route 41 and El Camino Real, and the connecting road north of that bridge to the intersection of the short portion of Creston Eureka Road and its main portion. This new section is two miles long, as compared with the old, circuitous, 3.5-mile routing.
In May 2003, the CTC considered relinquishment of the segment from PM SLO 16.7 to PM SLO 16.9 in the City of Atascadero. This is likely an original or bypass segment.
Realignment in Shandon
In October 2011, Caltrans and the County of San Luis Obispo have exchanged responsibilities for routes in and near the community of Shandon. At the county's request, the state has transferred to the county a portion of West and East Centre Street that passes through the center of town. In exchange, the state now has responsibility for the portion of West Centre Street to the intersection of Route 46 and McMillan-Canyon Road (~ SLO 41.151 to SLO R42.139). This will allow the county to implement improvements planned for the Shandon area. In the September 2011 CTC meeting records, the following was noted: The County of San Luis Obispo on May 17, 2011 adopted a resolution requesting a transfer of Route 41 location from its existing easterly alignment along West Centre Street and through the Shandon Community to an intersection with Route 46 to the proposed new shorter westerly alignment along West Centre Street. A Route Transfer Report was approved on July 1, 2011. The Department completed a preliminary environmental review and determined that this project would not have a significant adverse impact on the environment. A Categorical Exemption (CE) was signed on September 27, 2010. The background noted:
The purpose of this route adoption is to establish a new alignment for the portion of Route 41 that passes through the community of Shandon. The County of San Luis Obispo (County) requested a transfer of highway location to allow the County to better implement the Shandon Community Plan and achieve the plans’ goals to reduce interregional traffic through Shandon and to make roadway improvements that do not meet the Department’s State highway design standards. This transfer of alignment will allow existing Route 41 from Post Mile (PM) 41.2 to 43.8 to be relinquished to the County while maintaining the route concept and connectivity of Route 41 to Route 46. On February 27, 1960, the California Highway Commission adopted this portion of Route 41 as a State Highway. Route 41 traverses the counties of San Luis Obispo, Kings, Fresno, Madera and Mariposa beginning in the city of Morro Bay and terminating in Yosemite National Park. The limits of the proposed route transfer are entirely within the county of San Luis Obispo. The route is classified as a primary route, included in the Interregional Road System and has a Truck Advisory Designation. Route 41 within the project limits is a two-lane undivided conventional highway, functionally classified as rural major collector, with 10-foot lanes and a one-foot shoulder in the westbound direction and no shoulders in the eastbound direction. The current easterly alignment of Route 41, from the intersection at West Centre Street to Route 46, runs through the unincorporated community of Shandon. West Centre Street acts as the main street for Shandon and has posted speeds ranging from 55 miles per hour (mph) to 25 mph. There are no designated bike lanes or paths along the existing Route 41 roadway and the lack of paved shoulders requires bike traffic to ride with the flow of traffic on the roadway. Route 41 serves primarily through trips from the west starting at US 101, City of Atascadero, to points east including I-5, Bakersfield, Visalia and Fresno. Local traffic from farms and housing along the route also use this highway to travel to and from the community of Shandon to the city of Atascadero. The proposed new alignment (Route Adoption) begins at the intersection of Route 41 and West Centre Street (PM R41.2) and runs westerly along West Centre Street (formerly known as McMillian Canyon Road) terminating at its junction with Route 46 (PM R42.2). This route is a rural two-lane undivided conventional highway with 11-foot-wide lanes and one-foot-wide shoulders. Posted speeds range from 55 mph to 45 mph prior to horizontal curves. Both the existing and proposed alignments are comparable in geometric cross section and pavement condition. The new westerly alignment of Route 41 provides a more direct connection to Route 46 and is about a mile in length. The existing easterly alignment of Route 41, from the intersection with West Centre Street (PM 41.2) through the Shandon community to just west of the intersection of Route 41 with Route 46 (PM 43.8), would be transferred to the County and is 2.65 miles in length.
This segment is officially designated the "E.G. Lewis Highway" (~ SLO 0.000 to SLO R42.139). Edward Gardner Lewis was born in Connecticut in 1869. He purchased the Atascadero Rancho and moved west in 1912. In this role, he became solely responsible for the planning, design, and construction of much of the 40 square mile Atascadero Colony, now known as the City of Atascadero. Mr. Lewis built a printing plant, an all-under-one roof shopping center, schools, a hospital providing full medical coverage for all his employees, paved the state highway, El Camino Real, on its 10 mile stretch through the City of Atascadero, and planted thousands of acres of orchards. He also purchased a three mile strip of land along the Pacific Coast 17 miles west of Atascadero and saw the need for a road from Atascadero to the beach so that the residents of Atascadero would have a direct route to the coast for recreation. This road, Morro Road, is now Route 41. Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution No. 76, Chapter 47, in 1994.
The portion of Route 41 between Creston Road and El Camino Real (map) in San Luis Obispo County (~ SLO 15.953 to SLO 28.1) is named the "Robert and Pat Nimmo Memorial Highway". It was named in honor of Robert and Pat Nimmo. Robert Nimmo was born in Balboa, California in 1922 to a pioneer ranching family. He married Patricia Anne Stone in 1950, and together they had three children, Mary, Augusta, and Kathleen. Robert Nimmo enrolled at the California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo in 1940 and later joined the Cal Poly Rodeo Team. He served from 1943 through 1946 as a pilot in the United States Army Air Corps, and from 1950 through 1952 as Company Commander, 161st Ordnance Company. His crew was later assigned to the 448th Bombardment Group, 8th United States Air Force, flying missions over France and Germany during the landing at Normandy on June 6, 1944. He also worked with the California State Military Department in various military assignments from 1955 through 1970. He became a member the California National Guard at Camp San Luis Obispo, later earned the position of commanding officer of San Luis Obispo's 161 Ordnance Depot Company, and later became installation commander at Camp San Luis. He retired with the rank of colonel and in 1964 graduated from the United States Army Command and General Staff College. He was appointed in 1970 by Governor Ronald Reagan to serve as United States property and fiscal officer for the State of California from 1970 through 1972. He served as a California State Assembly Member from 1972 through 1976, representing the counties of Monterey, San Luis Obispo, and Santa Barbara, and as a California State Senator from 1976 through 1980, representing the counties of Monterey, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, and Santa Cruz. Legislation authored by Robert Nimmo included the development of facilities at California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, improvements to schools in the Atascadero Unified School District, conservation efforts devoted to Morro Bay State Park, and the protection of Moonstone Beach. He served on the Assembly Agriculture, Energy and Diminishing Materials, Resources and Land Use, Elections and Reapportionment, Employment and Public Employees, Natural Resources and Conservation, Water, and Retirement Committees, as well as the Senate Rules Finance, Agriculture, Local Government, Water Resources, and Revenue and Taxation Committees. He was appointed by President Ronald Reagan as the Adminstrator of Veteran's Affairs; and served on the Atascadero city council from 1990 to 1994 and as Mayor of Atascadero from 1992 through 1994. Robert Nimmo died on November 7, 2005. As for Patricia Nimmo, she established Nimmo Realty Corp. in Atascadero and worked as a real estate broker for more than 40 years. Patricia Nimmo was a wonderfully energetic participant in the Republican Women's Federation, the Atascadero Chamber of Commerce, and St. William's Church in Atascadero. Patricia Nimmo was the victim of a tragic car accident while walking with her husband near Route 41. Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution (ACR) 122, Resolution Chapter 94, on 7/23/2008.
Historically, this segment is supposedly part of the "Sierra to the Sea" Highway, although other records indicate that name belongs to Route 198.
[SHC 253.3] From Morro Bay to Route 101 near Atascadero. Added to the Freeway and Expressway system in 1959.
From Route 46 to Route 99 in Fresno.
In 1934, Route 41 was signed along the route from Cambria to Yosemite Park, via Paso Robles and Fresno. Between the US 466 (now Route 46) divergence near Cholame to US 99 (LRN 4), the route was part of LRN 125, defined in 1933.
Route 41 originally took a swing southeast of Kettleman City on 25th Avenue
and had a couple doglegs south to reach the Kettleman Plains. This routing
seemingly lasted until the renumbering in 1964. The Kettlemans are essentially
packed up loam soil, common in the West Valley; seismic activity was the likely
culprit in their formation; there's little bedrock to get in the way of
activities such as scraping chunks off the top to place highway alignments or
even drilling down to the oil underneath the upper layers. Originally it would
have been cheaper just to follow the topology as it existed; when interregional
traffic on Route 41 and other area routes started to increase, it became
necessary to do whatever cut & fill was necessary to effect an efficient
and faster routing. The coming of I-5 in the mid-late 60's likely was prominent
among those factors that brought about the various realignments; the Division
of Highways figured that the new freeway would bring additional traffic to the
intersecting routes (particularly Route 41), so upgrades were in order. The
original alignment can be seen here on this
1935 California Division of Highways Map of Kings County. The following is
a summary of the changes in the route from a post by Max R on AARoads:
(Source: Max R. and Sparker on AAroads, April 2017; as well as this thread)
The original alignment is kind of odd with various 90 degree turns and a weird loop through the Kettelman Hills. Started out on Elm Avenue at Camden Fresno County which carried Route 41 south of the city of Fresno. Camden is one of the San Joaquin Valley towns that really isn't an inhabited place anymore. Supposedly Camden had a post office for a couple years in the early 20th century but today there is nothing but a gas station and a couple abandoned houses. Route 41 ran south on Elm to Excelsior Avenue along the Kings County Line before making right turn to run west. The original alignment on Excelsior runs under the modern Route 41 expressway. Route 41 cut of Excelsior southward again on 19½th Avenue at a place called Hub. Supposedly Hub is named after some bar that carries an identical name and for reason it is considered a "place" even back on the 1935 Kings County Map. There was a railroad through Hub in the 1930s which might lend explanation to why it exists as it could have been a railroad siding. About a half mile south of hub 19½th Ave ends at the modern Route 41 expressway, it appears the northbound lanes were the original alignment south to Lemoore. It appears that Hub was bypassed by 1965 as the change in alignment can be seen from 1964 to 1965 on the state highway maps. Modern Route 41 continues as expressway on the alignment of what was 19½th Avenue until Hanford/Armona Road (Old Route 198) where it swings west to bypass Lemoore. 19½th Avenue still exists within Lemoore and has a really obvious cut-off stub. Lemoore was likely bypassed by the Route 41 expressway in 1967 as a stub bow of the highway can be seen on the state highway map that wasn't present in 1966. South of Lemoore the modern expressway ends and Route 41 merges back in with the alignment of 19½th Avenue. Both Route 41 and Route 198 would have taken an western right hand turn at Jackson Avenue. Route 41 dropped off of Route 198 at 20th Avenue where it took a left turn to head south again. Oddly this 90° turn wasn't bypassed until the early 1970s and the change can be seen from the 1970 State Highway Map to 1975. Continuing south on Route 41 the original alignment used to run directly through Stratford and continued straight on 20th Avenue. Original Route 41 then took a right to turn west on Laurel Avenue. Route 41 continued west into downtown Stratford where the southbound/northbound lanes bisected the town square on one-way Main Street before converging again. At the town limits of Stratford Main Street becomes Laurel Avenue and Route 41 continued west. Stratford was bypassed by the modern Route 41 alignment in what appears to be 1957 as a difference can be seen on the state highway map from 1956. Originally Route 41 continued west past the modern highway alignment over the Kings River. Route 41 then took another sudden southward turn left on 22nd Avenue. Route 41 originally ran south to what is still the current southwesterly alignment to Kettleman City. The bypass for Laurel Avenue and 22nd Avenue was opened between 1942 and 1944. Route 41 from 22nd Avenue through Kettleman City is essentially the same as it always been. Kettleman City was settled in 1929 near the site of a ferry after Tulare Lake had largely dried out. The big draw was the oil fields up in the Kettelman Hills. Despite the name Kettleman City isn't an incorporated place and is an infamous speed trap for Route 41. Originally Route 41 continued south on 25th Avenue here instead of directly straight towards I-5. There isn't much to see the way of the old alignment of Route 41 as the roadway on 25th was apparently upgraded during the construction of I-5. Later construction of the California Aqueduct led to the original alignment getting cut-off in the Kettelman Hills. Route 41 would have followed 25th Avenue along side the California Aqueduct. Beyond that looking east in the low lying farm land was all once Tulare Lake which was once the largest fresh water lake west of the Great Lakes. Apparently Tulare Lake was measured at 570 square miles in 1849 to a high or 690 square miles in 1879. Tulare Lake was fed by the Kings, Kaweah, Tule, and Kern River basins which were largely engineered for irrigation or flood control. A portion of modern Route 41 actually was within in the high crest of the lake. The last major flood of Tulare Lake was back in 1938 and it largely has remained farm land ever since. The last state highway map to show Tulare Lake was in 1922 where it can be seen directly south of Stratford. Modern Route 41 basically is a direct southwest shot through the Kettelman Hills whereas the original alignment crossed the location of the California Aquaduct and curved through the terrain. Most of the original alignment is inaccessible save for a small strip at the gate of the Aquaduct. Apparently the original alignment of Route 41 still appears as "Old State Highway" on modern maps and can be easily seen from Google. The original alignment appears to have always been dirt/gravel and was replaced in 1960. Even the new alignment Route 41 uses today through the Kettleman Hills doesn't appear to have been paved along with the Kettleman Plain until 1962. Directly south of the Kettelman Hills, Route 41 rejoined the more or less current alignment approaching Route 33. Looking north that the original alignment of Route 41 may be seen following the power lines to the Waste Management dump site. South from this point to Route 46 the alignment of Route 41 is largely the same as it always has been sans for one difference. For whatever reason in this valley the original alignment was replaced with a new road directly to east of the old one. The original Route 41 has been ground down by a grading machine in the somewhat recent past and has evidence of stray strips of asphalt. the old alignment actually crosses a gas station parking lot and even Route 33 before it merges back in with the modern highway.
(Source: AARoads Discussion, April 2017)
In Fresno in 1938, Route 41 entered from the South along Elm Avenue and C
Street to Fresno St., along Fresno St. to Broadway, and then N to Stanislaus
St, heading E to Blackstone Ave and then out of town to Yosemite.
(Source: 1938 Map posted on FB by Joel Windmiller)
In March 2018, the CTC approved $3,231,000 in SHOPP funding for Kings
06-Kin-41 8.1/R48.3 On Route 41 In and near Kettleman City and Lemoore, from
Route 33 to the Fresno County line at various locations. Outcome/Output: Improve safety by
constructing shoulder and centerline rumble strips to reduce the number and
severity of collisions.
(Source: CTC Agenda, March 2018 Agenda Item 2.5f)
In March 2016. it was reported that Kings County had a 20-year wish list
totaling approximately $1.2 billion to transition a number of highways to four
lanes: Route 43 from Selma to Corcoran; Route 41 from Kettleman City (~ KIN
17.905) to Lemoore (~ KIN R40.037) and Route 198 from Naval Air Station Lemoore
to I-5. However, Kings County is only expected to get $3.5 million from the
State Transportation Improvement Plan (STIP) designed for capacity increasing
projects in the 2013-2014 period.
(Source: Andy3175 @ AAroad, March 2016; Hartford Sentinal, 9/7/2013).
The following project was included in the final adopted 2018 SHOPP in March 2018: PPNO 6873. 06-Kings-41 30.6/33.0. Route 41 In and near Stratford, from 22nd Street to Laurel Avenue at the Kings River Bridge No. 45-0007. Replace 73 year old bridge due to extensive superstructure and substructure distress and susceptibility to liquefaction. Begin Con: 5/11/2022. Total Project Cost: $33,294.
In November 2010, the CTC approved for future consideration of funding a project in Kings County that will construct left turn lanes in both the northbound and southbound directions on Route 41 near the city of Lemoore (~ KIN R40.961). The project is programmed in the 2010 State Highway Operation and Protection Program. Construction is estimated to begin in Fiscal Year 2011-12. Total estimated project cost is $2,753,000 for capital and support. The project will require construction activities in the habitat of the Tipton kangaroo rat and the San Joaquin kit fox, both of which are state and federally listed threatened and endangered species. The project contains mitigation measures to reduce impacts to these species to a less than significant level.
In January 2012, the CTC approved $10.1 million for a project on Route 41 near Lemoore that will raise the roadway profile, widen shoulders and repave the 5.2 lane-miles worth of the roadway between Hanford-Armona Road and Grangeville Boulevard (~ KIN R42.142 to KIN R44.149). The project will improve ride quality and reduce the potential for flooding.
The 2018 STIP, approved at the CTC March 2018 meeting, appears to restore funding for PPNO 6705, 06-Fre-041 0.0/7.1, Near the city of Fresno, from the Kings County line to Elkhorn Avenue. Widen from 2-lane to 4-lane expressway. This project would eliminate the last two-lane segment of Route 41 between the City of Fresno and Route 198 in the City of Lemoore, a distance of over thirty miles. The project will also improve the regional movement of freight and goods, and local farmto market travel. The project would relieve congestion, separate oncoming traffic with a divided median, and breakup traffic queues by providing major passing opportunities. Route 41 is an Interregional High Emphasis Focus Route corridor essential to the economic development of the San Joaquin Valley. It is consistent with the Transportation Concept Report, the Interregional Transportation Strategic Plan, and the Fresno County Regional Transportation Plan. A four-lane expressway would increase caacity and bring the level of service (LOS) from "D" to "B" during the 20-year design period, which would improve traffic safety and maintain route consistency. Also, portions of the highway in the project limits lie within the 100-year flood-plain. This project will improve cross drainage in order to minimize flooding. The STIP appears to restore $2,000K in R/W funding for FY18-19.
Fresno noted, is its planning document: This
project will close a gap and upgrade approximately six miles of two-lane
conventional highway to a divided four-lane expressway from the Kings County
line to Elkhorn Avenue. Route 41 is an Interregional High Emphasis Focus Route
corridor and is in the Caltrans’ Interregional Transportation Strategic
Plan, part of the National Network of truck routes, and included in the
Caltrans Highway Freight Network. The project is anticipated to cost $62
million.Caltrans has proposed programming the preconstruction phases of this
project in the ITIP in 2018/19 as a restored project that was deleted during
the 2016/ STIP cycle and requested Fresno COG partner with a contribution from
the RTIP. Caltrans will provide $8 million for PS&E and right of way with
ITIP and Fresno COG will provide $2 million in RTIP for ROW. The combination of
RTIP and ITIP funds will produce a shovel ready project in 2023. The region has
also agreed to reserve $4 million in future county shares for when Caltrans
programs construction in the ITIP.
(Source: Fresno COG, December 2017)
Historically, this segment is supposedly part of the "Sierra to the Sea" Highway, although other records indicate that name belongs to Route 198.
The Route 41/Route 46 junction near Cholame (~ SLO 43.888) is named the "James Dean Memorial Junction". James Byron Dean wasone of the most admired movie stars of all time and an icon of American culture. He was born on February 8, 1931, in Marion, Indiana; and later moved to California and attended Santa Monica City College and the University of California at Los Angeles. He is best known for his roles in "East of Eden," "Rebel Without a Cause," and "Giant," and also appeared on television shows and in a Broadway play. As a successful actor, he attained cult status in little more than a year's time, personifying the restless American youth of the mid-1950s. He was tragically killed on September 30, 1955, in an automobile crash on Route 46 in San Luis Obispo County while traveling in his automobile on the way to a racing event. Just two hours before the fatal crash, Dean was pulled over for speeding on Route 99 outside of Bakersfield. Retired officer Otie Hunter clocked Dean's car at 70 miles an hour. Dean told the officer he had bought the car just a few days before and was headed to the Monterey area to compete in a car race. He was given a warning. Around 9:00 PM, it was reported that James Dean had been killed in a car wreck. This interchange, which is near where he was killed, is still regularly visited by his fans. Dean's family, friends, and lawmakers lobbied for the designation, and on September 30, 2005 (50 years to the day he died), the state of California posted signs renaming the intersection where he crashed his silver Porsche, the James Dean Memorial Junction. Dean's close cousin, Marcus Winslow, accepted an official resolution and placed a rose at the accident scene. "On September 30,1955, at approximately 5:45 p.m. only a few feet from where we're standing here, Jimmy's life came to an abrupt and sorrowful end," said Winslow. Private donations paid for the two $400 signs, with the hope that the signs will serve as a safety reminder to drivers. Named by Senate Concurrent Resolution 52, Chapter 107, on August 15, 2002.
The portion of Route 41 between Elkhorn Avenue and Jensen Ave located in the City of Fresno (~ FRE M6.088 to FRE R21.109) is officially named the "Donald E. DeMers Highway". This segment was named in honor of Donald E. DeMers, who served as the first and only Executive Director of the Fresno County Transportation Authority. Mr. Donald E. DeMers graduated Magna Cum Laude from the University of North Dakota in 1966, with a bachelor's degree in Political Science; he earned a master's degree in Political Science and Public Administration from the University of North Dakota in 1971. During his tenure at the Fresno County Transportation Authority, Donald E. DeMers led the effort to construct freeways on Route 41, Route 180, and Route 168. Fresno County was one of the first counties statewide to become a self-help county, taxing itself to augment road construction throughout the county; Mr. DeMers led the county's representation on a committee that was formed of fellow self-help counties called the Self-Help Counties coalition throughout his time with the Fresno County Transportation Authority. Named by Senate Concurrent Resolution (SCR) 37, Resolution Chapter 138, on 9/8/2006.
The portion of Route 41 from the intersection with Elkhorn Avenue to the intersection with Ventura Avenue (~ FRE M6.088 to FRE R23.242) and from the intersection with Herndon Avenue to the Medera County Line (~FRE R30.468 to MAD 0.000) is named the "Yosemite" Freeway. Named by Senate Concurrent Resolution 25, Chapter 85, 1997.
From Route 99 in Fresno to Yosemite National Park.
In 1963, this segment was defined as "(c) Route 99 near Fresno to Route 180. (d) Route 180 to Yosemite National Park.". In 1986, Chapter 928 combined these segments into "(c) Route 99 in Fresno to Yosemite National Park."
In 1934, Route 41 was signed along the route from Cambria to Yosemite Park, via Paso Robles and Fresno.This segment was was LRN 125, defined in 1933.
Before the current routing was established, Route 41 entered via Elm Avenue, then followed C Street to Fresno Street, where it ran with Route 180 multiplexed northeast to Broadway (US 99), then Route 41 continued north with US 99 to Stanislaus Street, and then north on Stanislaus to Blackstone Avenue.
Max R/Challenger 66 did some more investigation into the historical routing of Route 41 in Fresno on the Old CA 180 and CA 41 surface alignments in Fresno post in Sure Why Not?, and came to the following conclusions (his post has detailed maps):
It appears that Route 41 had a different routing in 1935 near Oakhurst: On
the 1935 Map of Madera County, the current crossing crossing of the Fresno
River west of the confluence with China Creek is instead east of the confluence
crossing on what are now Road 425B and Road 426 in Oakhurst. Route 41 can be
seen traversing southbound from Oakhurst on Road 425B towards Coarsegold on the
1935 Madera County Map.
(Source: Sure Why Not? Blog: Old California State Route 41 on Road 425B, 2/2/2018)
CalTrans is in the midst of a number of projects to upgrade Route 41 in Fresno and the Fresno vicinity. Fresno has long had a deficit of freeways. This changed in 1986 when the electorate in Fresno County voted to raise their sales tax by .5% for twenty years to fund road improvements. At the time of the measure, Freeway Route 41 went only as far north as Bullard Avenue. The first project was to build the freeway to Woodward Park, just shy of the San Joaquin River (and the county line). In 1997, the Route 41 freeway was extended as far south as North Avenue. The plans are to have it expressway grade from there to Conejo or Mendocino Avenues (near Caruthers).
According to Joe Rouse in May 2001:
I traveled the 41 freeway from Jensen Ave. (~ FRE R21.113) north into Madera County. The new freeway extends quite a ways south of Jensen but I didn't have time to travel it. There are still Route 41 shields on Route 99 between Jensen and the interchange with the Route 41 freeway. Prior to the completion of the Route 41 freeway south of Route 99, Jensen Ave. was designated as Route 41 between Route 99 and Elm Ave.
The extension north into Madera County starts on the west side of the old highway. Parts of the old road remain there, including the San Joaquin River bridge. The new freeway is 4 lanes but the new bridges across the river look like they are built to accommodate 3 lanes in each direction. The old road continues north, parallel to the new freeway, up to a large interchange that looks out of place since it is in an area with very little development..only the Valley Children's Hospital, is out there. However, this interchange has signals and ramp metering. Future development is apparently being planned. Just north of there the freeway becomes a super-2 and runs east of the old alignment, which has been renamed and signed as Business Route 41. The super-2 rejoins the old alignment at Avenue 12.
2007 CMIA. The following project on Route 41 in Fresno County was submitted to the Corridor Mobility Improvement Account for funding: expansion of the route to eight lanes from Divisadero to Shields ($95M) (~ FRE R23.704 to FRE R26.466). Not recommended for funding.
In July 2010, the California Transportation Commission approved the last bit of funding for the Route 41/Route 168/Route 180 interchange project (~ FRE R24.507), which will build a system of new ramps with overpasses to separate streams of traffic that now merge and diverge in an often chaotic scene. Two other project on Route 41 also are getting under way. One adds a new lane to the outside between Herndon and Bullard avenues to better accommodate entering and exiting traffic. The other involves installing ramp meters at four sites between Ashlan and Bullard avenues.
In November 2010, the CTC approved for future consideration of funding a project in Fresno County that will construct new braided ramps between Route 41 and Route 168 in the city of Fresno (~ FRE R24.522). The project is programmed in the 2010 State Highway Operation and Protection Program. Construction is estimated to begin in Fiscal Year 2010-11. Total estimated project cost is $55,000,000 for capital and support. The project will mitigate potential impacts to noise to a less than significant level by building soundwalls at four locations.
In August 2011, it was reported that Caltrans completed installation of three ramp-metering systems: one at McKinley Avenue (~ FRE R25.28), and the other two at Shields Avenue (~ FRE R26.466). The average daily traffic volume on Route 41 at each of these locations is about 125,000 vehicles. The $2.5 million project was financed entirely by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (Recovery Act).
Shaw Avenue Widening
The following project was included in the final adopted 2018 SHOPP in March 2018: PPNO 6879. 06-Fresno-41 R27.6/R28.3. On Route 41 Near Fresno, from the northbound Ashlan Avenue onramp to the northbound Shaw Avenue offramp. Construct northbound auxiliary lane and add an additional lane to the Shaw Avenue offramp. Begin Con: 2/18/2022. Total Project Cost: $22,957K.
In June 2018, the City of Fresno posted that they
will be widening the northbound off-ramp of Route 41 at Shaw Avenue to provide
an improved travel way for motorists beginning Monday, June 4 through Thursday,
September 13, 2018. There will be intermittent lane closures on the northbound
off-ramp and on eastbound Shaw Avenue.
(Source: City of Fresno Facebook Page, 6/1/2018)
Improvement of the Friant Road Interchange (~ FRE R31.718) in Fresno, including addition of an auxiliar lane and operational improvements, is TCRP Project #95. The project is to improve the operation of northbound Route 41 from Herndon Avenue to Friant Road. The project is to construct a median lane from El Paso Avenue to Friant Road, construct an auxiliary lane from Herndon Avenue to Friant Road, construct a second auxiliary lane from El Paso Avenue to Friant Road, and widen Friant Road to accommodate the two auxiliary lanes. Due to a reduction in cost for Right-of-Way, in February 2006 the CTC considered redistribution of $424,000 in TCRP funds to ongoing work in Plans, Specifications, and Estimates (PS&E). PS&E was completed in August 2006, and expenditures were lower than originally estimated. The $230,000 surplus is needed for Construction due to increased cost in asphalt concrete and structural concrete. The project is being constructed in two segments. The first segment, funded with $9,376,000 from the State Highway Operation and Protection Program (SHOPP), will be completed in December 2006. Construction of the second segment will be funded with $8,300,000 in TCRP funds. Estimated completion is in FY 2010/2011. The mitigated negative environmental impact declaration was recieved in July 2007.
In September 2005, the CTC considered a proposal to relinquish the segement of former Route 41 (bypassed by the freeway construction) from 0.1 mile south of the Perrin Road Undercrossing to the San Joaquin River Bridge, consisting of superseded highway right of way. (~ FRE 33.085)
In January 2015, the CTC approved for future consideration of funding a project that will seismically retrofit the Route 41 San Joaquin River Bridge (~ FRE 033.37) near Herndon and upgrade the railings on both this bridge and the San Joaquin River Overflow Bridge (~ MAD 000.08). The project is programmed in the 2014 State Highway Operation and Protection Program. The total estimated cost is $6,029,000 for capital and support. Construction is estimated to begin in Fiscal Year 2016-17. The scope, as described for the preferred alternative, is consistent with the project scope programmed by the Commission in the 2014 State Highway Operation and Protection Program.
2007 CMIA. The following project on Route 41 in Madera County was submitted to the Corridor Mobility Improvement Account for funding: widening Route 41 between Ave 11 and Ave 12 (including an Ave 12 interchange) ($44.8M requested) (~ MAD 2.278 to MAD 3.226) . Not recommended for funding.
Coursegold Passing Lanes (MAD 11.7/13.6)
In December 2014, the CTC approved for future consideration of funding a project that will construct passing lanes, outside shoulders, a median barrier, and rumble strips on a portion of Route 41 near Madera (MAD 11.7/13.6). The project is not fully funded. The project is programmed in the 2014 State Transportation Improvement Program. The total estimated cost is $22,148,000 for capital and support. Depending on the availability of funds, construction is estimated to begin in Fiscal Year 2014-15. The scope, as described for the preferred alternative, is consistent with the project scope programmed by the Commission in the 2014 State Transportation Improvement Program.
In March 2015, the CTC amended the funding
allocation for the Madera 41 Passing Lane. Near Coarsegold, from 0.3 mile north
of Road 208 to 2.2 miles north of Road 208 (~ MAD 11.698 to MAD 13.598).
Construct passing lane. CON ENG:
In September 2007, the CTC approved a project near Coarsegold (~ MAD 28.068) for future consideration of funding. This project in Merced County will make improvements to a 198 acre parcel to be used for current and future mitigation near Coarsegold. The project is fully funded in the District 6 Minor Program.
The SAFETEA-LU act, enacted in August 2005 as the reauthorization of TEA-21, provided the following expenditures on or near this route:
High Priority Project #287: Rehabilitation, repair, and/or reconstruction of deficient two-lane roads that connect to I-5, Route 180, Route 41 and Route 99 throughout Fresno County. See also HPP #3798. $2,800,000.
High Priority Project #3798: Rehabilitation, repair, and/or reconstruction of deficient two-lane roads that connect to I-5, Route 180, Route 41 and Route 99 throughout Fresno County. This seems to be supplemental funding for HPP #287. $1,500,000.
The portion of Route 41 from the intersection with Elkhorn Avenue to the intersection with Ventura Avenue (~ FRE M6.088 to FRE R23.242) and from the intersection with Herndon Avenue to the Medera County Line (~FRE R30.468 to MAD 0.000) is named the "Yosemite" Freeway. Named by Senate Concurrent Resolution 25, Chapter 85, 1997.
The segment of Route 41 from Golden State Boulevard to Bullard Avenue (~ FRE R22.195 to FRE R29.448) in the County of Fresno is officially named the "Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial Freeway". Dwight Eisenhower was the 34th President of the United States, and is believed to be the driving force behind the interstate system. He died in 1969. For more information, see President Eisenhower's official biography or visit the Eisenhower Library. Originally, this segment was from Ventura Avenue to Herndon Avenue, and was named by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 42, Chapter 141, in 1971. It was redesignated to be from Golden State Boulevard to Bullard Avenue by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 45, Resolution Chapter 1, on February 1, 2016.
The portion of Route 41 from Bullard Avenue to Herndon Avenue in the County of Fresno (~ FRE R29.448 to FRE R30.468) is officially named the "Joe Levy Memorial Highway". It was named in memory of Joe Levy, a prominent Fresno businessman and civic leader, whose commitment to the Fresno area created an enduring legacy of community and humanitarian service. His contributions include championing women’s professional advancement and active involvement in local organizations such as the Boy Scouts of America, the American Red Cross, the Fresno Arts Council, and the Fresno Area Chamber of Commerce. Levy was born in January 1932, in Fresno, and died in February 2014. Levy graduated from Fresno High School in 1950, and he attended the University of Southern California, Marshall School of Business, where he graduated in 1954. Levy began his career with Gottschalks as an Assistant Merchandise Manager in 1956, became a Merchandise Manager in 1960, and became Executive Vice President in 1972. He was named CEO and Chairman in 1982, and was the third generation of the Gottschalk family to hold a top executive post. Levy returned to Fresno and began his career with Gottschalks, Gottschalks had one store in downtown Fresno. Under his watch, he helped the independent store expand across Central California and the West Coast, growing to about 80 stores and 29 specialty stores in six western states. Under Levy’s guidance and personal involvement, the company became renowned for its outstanding community service and steadfast commitment to customer service and high business ethics. Levy strongly supported civic participation among Gottschalk employees to support an array of local organizations and programs, including, but not limited to, the annual “Coats for Kids” campaign. Levy’s list of leadership positions and accolades is lengthy. He won the Leon S. Peters Award in 1989, the top honor for service to the community recognized by the Fresno Chamber of Commerce. A former president of the Fresno Chamber of Commerce, he was active in the Downtown Association of Fresno, the Boys Club of Fresno County, the Fresno Arts Museum, the Fresno Metropolitan Museum, and the Craig School of Business at Fresno State. He received other awards including the City of Hope’s Spirit of Life Award and the Fresno Advertising Federation Foundation’s J.U. Berry Lifetime Achievement Award. He was inducted into the Clovis Hall of Fame and in 1990 was voted third in the Fresno Bee’s Top 10 Guiding Forces in Fresno with the headline “Joe Levy loves sales but reveres highways.” Leadership positions he held include serving on the Board of Trustees during the founding of the University of California, Merced, the Business Advisor Council for the Craig School of Business at Fresno State, the Executive Committee for the Fresno Business Council, as a board member for the Fresno Economic Development Corporation, a board member for the San Joaquin Political Academy, a cofounder and sustaining sponsor of the annual Central California Women’s Conference, a Trustee and Secretary of Community Hospitals of Central California, a leader in successfully obtaining “All-American City” designation for Fresno in 1967, a board member of the National Retail Federation, a board member of the Fresno County Transportation Authority, and as past president of the Fresno Host Lions Club. Levy dedicated his life to serving the community as the notable head of Gottschalks and continued his commitment to the community upon being appointed by Governor George Deukmejian to the California Transportation Commission. He served on the California Transportation Commission from March 9, 1983, to February 1, 1991, and was its Chairman in 1986. With his constant vision for the future, Joe Levy was a driving force for successfully securing funding for the expanding freeway system in Fresno and he aided in the development of Route 168 and Route 180 that serve as integral transportation lines in Fresno County. Named by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 45, Resolution Chapter 1, on February 1, 2016.
The portion of Route 41 from Herndon Avenue in the City of Fresno to Avenue 10 in Madera County (~FRE R30.468 to MAD 1.353) is named the "Deputy David G. Graves Memorial Freeway". It was named in memory of Deputy David G. Graves of the Fresno County Sheriff's Office, who was killed on November 5, 1982, while in performance of his duties to the citizens he was sworn to protect. Deputy Graves was a native of Fresno, and a graduate of Hoover High School and Fresno City College. Before entering law enforcement, Deputy Graves worked as a general contractor and operated his own construction business. Deputy Graves joined the Fresno County Sheriff's Office in 1979, having served as a volunteer in the Sheriff's Search and Rescue Unit for two years prior to becoming a deputy, and was assigned to the patrol division. Deputy Graves was a dedicated officer who served his community and loved his profession. On November 5, 1982, Deputy Graves was on routine patrol on Shaw Avenue in Fresno west of Route 99 in a marked patrol vehicle when his vehicle was struck by a pickup truck driven by an intoxicated 28-year-old Clovis man that had run a stop sign, with the collision resulting in severe head injuries to Deputy Graves that led to his death prior to arrival at the Valley Medical Center. Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution (ACR) 61, Resolution Chapter 90, on 9/1/2009.
The portion of this route from the Fresno county line (MAD 0.000 to MPA 4.918) to Yosemite National Park is named the "Southern Yosemite Highway". It was named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution 27, Chapter 69, in 1989. It was named by location.
The portion of Route 41 from PM MPA 1.841 at the Mariposa-Madera county line to PM MPA 4.918 at the entrance to Yosemite National Park, is named the "Buffalo Soldiers Memorial Highway". In 1866, the United States Congress created six segregated regiments that were ultimately consolidated into four African American regiments: the 9th and 10th Cavalry and the 24th and 25th Infantry. African American army regiments that had been dispatched westward fought in the Indian Wars and these soldiers were eventually given the name Buffalo Soldiers by the Cheyenne and other Plains Indians. Although historians have recorded the service of these Buffalo Soldiers on the western frontier, their service in some national parks has been nearly forgotten. The United States Army served as the official administrator of Yosemite and Sequoia National Parks between 1891 and 1913. In that capacity, it helped create a model for park management as we know it today. Buffalo Soldiers were among the first park rangers and back country rangers patrolling parts of the west. Approximately 500 Buffalo Soldiers, mainly from the 24th Infantry and 9th Cavalry, served in Yosemite National Park and Sequoia National Park. Their duties ranged from evicting poachers and timber thieves to extinguishing forest fires. They also oversaw the construction of roads, trails, and other infrastructure. Commanding officers of the United States Army became acting military superintendents for these national parks with two troops of cavalry assigned to each park. Each troop was made up of approximately 60 men. The presence of these troops invigorated the local economy and the soldiers acting as official stewards of park lands brought a sense of law and order to the mountain wilderness. Among their many accomplishments, the troops assigned to Yosemite National Park oversaw the building of an arboretum near the south fork of the Merced River in 1904. One scholar considered the area to contain the first marked nature trail in the United States’ national park system. Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution (ACR) 174, Res. Chapter 134, Statutes of 2016, on August 23, 2016.
In local usage, this segment is called "Wawona Road".
Historically, this segment is supposedly part of the "Sierra to the Sea" Highway, although other records indicate that name belongs to Route 198.
The Route 41 Lincoln Avenue overcrossing (Bridge 42-0144, PM FRE R017.10) is called the "Richard Allen Flores Memorial Bridge". It was named by Senate Concurrent Resolution 102, Chapter 170 in 1998. Richard Allen Flores lost his life in a construction accident on January 13, 1998, while working on the Lincoln Avenue overcrossing bridge, which bears his memorial.
The Route 41/Route 99 interchange near PM FRE R021.79 in downtown Fresno is named the "Rosa Parks Interchange". Rosa Parks (born February 4, 1913, in Tuskegee, Alabama) is considered the "Mother of the Modern Day Civil Rights Movement". This fame started when she was arrested on December 1, 1955, in Montgomery, Alabama, for refusing to give up her seat on a bus to a white man. Her arrest was the impetus for a boycott of Montgomery buses, led by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and joined by approximately 42,000 African Americans for 381 days. On November 13, 1956, the United States Supreme Court ruled that Montgomery's segregation law was unconstitutional, and on December 20, 1956, Montgomery officials were ordered to desegregate buses. Rosa Parks refusal to surrender her seat in compliance with Montgomery's segregation law inspired the civil rights movement, which has resulted in the breakdown of numerous legal barriers and the lessening of profound discrimination against African Americans in this country. Her courage and conviction laid the foundation for equal rights for all Americans and for the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Rosa Parks was the first woman to join the Montgomery chapter of the NAACP, and was an active volunteer for the Montgomery Voters League. She cofounded the Rosa and Raymond Parks Institute for Self Development in 1987 with Elaine Easton Steele to motivate and direct youth to achieve their highest potential through the "Pathways to Freedom" program. She is the recipient of many awards including the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation's highest civilian honor, the Congressional Gold Medal of Honor, the highest honor Congress can bestow upon a civilian, and the first International Freedom Conductor Award from the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center. Named by Senate Concurrent Resolution 3, Chaptered 7/16/2003, Chapter 98.
The Route 41/Route 180 interchange near PM FRE R024.50 is named the "Rose Ann Vuich" Interchange. Rose Ann Vuich was the state senator that secured the funding for completion of Route 41 and Route 180. Named by Senate Concurrent Resolution 25, Chapter 85, in 1997.
The Lanes Bridge, Bridge 41-0040, SAN JOAQUIN RIVER OVERFLOW, MAD PM 000.08,
is unlike the bridges around it, dating to 1941. The original Lanes Bridge was
completed in 1889 and was a steel truss design. The original Lanes Bridge was
located about a mile up river north of the 1941 bridge roughly where Lanes Road
ends today at the San Joaquin River. The original Lanes Bridge was first called
the Yosemite Bridge but soon became known as the Lanes Bridge due Lanes Station
which was a general store in close proximity which opened in 1894. In 1917 the
original Lanes Bridge had a partial collapse but was quickly repaired. By 1934
the original Lanes Bridge had become part of Route 41 but was considered
obsolete even for the standards of the time. The original 1934 alignment of
Route 41 used modern Friant Road and Lanes Road to cross the San Joaquin River
via the original Lanes Bridge. The original Lanes Bridge was heavily damaged in
a 1937 flood along the San Joaquin River but was once again repaired. It wasn't
until the summer of 1940 when an overloaded truck crashed through the road deck
of that the use of the original Lanes Bridge ended. Route 41 traffic was
temporarily rerouted to Friant over the 1906 North Fort Bridge until the 1941
Lanes Bridge was opened. The design of the 1941 Lanes Bridge is traditional Art
Deco concrete design which was a common bridge design by the California
Division of Highways prior to the mid-20th Century. There is a good article,
with pictures, on the Sure Why Not? Blog.
(Source: Sure Why Not? - Lanes Bridge, Caltrans Bridge Log)
The Route 41 Fresno River overcrossing (Bridge 42-4122) is called Kristopher's Crossing. It was named in memory of 9 year old Kristopher Charles Turner, a third grader at Oakhurst Elementary School. Kristopher was reported missing on May 23, 2004, and his murdered body was discovered later that day inside a concrete culvert under a bridge that crosses the Fresno River, Department of Transportation Bridge 4122. Renaming the bridge under which Kristopher's body was found Kristopher's Crossing "reflects the boy's crossing over to a better place". Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution (ACR) 65, Resolution Chapter 82, on 7/11/2006. (Note: This really appears to be bridge 42-0022, MAD PM 035.30)
[SHC 263.4] From Route 49 near Oakhurst to Yosemite National Park.
The following segments are designated as Classified Landscaped Freeway:
|County||Route||Starting PM||Ending PM|
[SHC 164.12] Between Route 1 and Yosemite National Park.
Overall statistics for Route 41:
The route that become LRN 41 was first defined in 1905 by Chapter 598, which authorized "...locating, surveying, and constructing a public highway from the General Grant National Park in Fresno County, thence E-ly into Kings Canyon..."
In 1909, Chapter 223 stated "The highway now completely located and surveyed, and partially completed ... from the General Grant National Park to the floor of the Kings River Canyon is hereby made a state highway..."
In 1919, the Third Bond Issue provided funding for the Kings River Canyon State Road. In 1933, the route was extended from [LRN 4] near Fresno to General Grant National Park, and from [LRN 4] near Fresno to [LRN 5] near Tracy. By 1935, when the route was codified, the definition was:
Legislation approved in 1963 would have changed "General Grant National Park" to the "General Grant Grove Section", but that change was overtaken by the 1963 renumbering by Chapter 385.
Signage along this route was as follows:
This was signed as Route 33 between Tracy and Los Banos and between the vicinity of Santa Rita Park and 2 mi NE of Mendota. It was signed as Route 180 from 2 mi NE of Mendota into Fresno. The Route 33 portion was defined in 1933; the Route 180 portion was defined in 1919.
Since 1964, some portions of this segment were deleted. The portion between Route 152 and I-5 (originally part of CA 33) was deleted in 1970, when former Route 207 (LRN 121) was resigned as Route 33 from Route 152 to I-5. The deleted portion was Ingomar Grade and Henry Miller Road. Additionally, the portion between I-205 in Tracy and I-5 was deleted from the state highway system in 1976.
From LRN 4 near Fresno to General Grant National Park.
This was signed as Route 180. "General Grant National Park" is General Grant Grove in Sequoia National Park. This was defined in 1933.
From General Grant National Park to Kings River Canyon.
This was signed as Route 180. This was defined in 1905.
No current routing.
In 1963, this route was defined as "Route 1 west of Inglewood to Route 91 in Santa Ana Canyon via the vicinity of Norwalk."
In 1965, the portion of former Route 42 from Route 605 to Route 39 was transferred to Route 90, and the routing was redefined as (1) from Route 1 west of Inglewood to Route 605 and (2) Route 39 near La Habra to Route 91 in Santa Ana Canyon. A 1965 planning map shows this as freeway from Route 405 to Route 605, and then continuing as freeway from Route 605 to Route 91 along what is now Route 90.
In 1968, part (1) was transferred to Route 105, and part (2) was transferred to Route 90. Part (1) became the "Century Freeway", and part (2) became the "Yorba Linda Freeway". This resulted in the route's deletion.
Before this route was designated as Route 42, it was signed as Route 10. Sometime between 1960 and 1963, the route was resigned as Route 42. The pre-1964 routing ran only between US 101A (now Route 1) and US 101 (now Route 5). It appears that Route 42 was originally LRN 174 (defined in 1933) between Route 1 and Route 19. LRN 176, defined in 1933 between Route 39 and Route 91, and extended to Route 19 in 1959. As part of Route 10, portions were signed as Bypass US 101.
Route 42 was not assigned as part of the 1934 signage of state routes. It is unclear if any route was signed as Route 42 between 1934 and the resignage of Route 10 as Route 42.
US 42 was the original number proposed in 1926 for what was later US 48, which was later renumbered as part of US 50. This is now part of Route 37.
The CalTrans bridge log indicates that Route 105 is signed in its entirety as Route 42. What this means is that the currently signed Route 42 is really the old traversable routing of Route 105. In mid-2000, CalTrans finally relinquished all portions of Route 42, although it still has some of the old signs in some places. The CalTrans photolog still shows some portions of Route 42 as unrelinquished in 2001.
The SAFETEA-LU act, enacted in August 2005 as the reauthorization of TEA-21, provided the following expenditures on or near this route:
High Priority Project #479: Widen Firestone Blvd (former Route 42) between Ryerson Blvd and Stewart and Gray Road in Downey. $1,600,000.
High Priority Project #1633: Conduct project report study on Old River School Rd — Firestone Blvd intersection reconfiguration in Downey. $400,000.
The route that became LRN 42 was first defined in 1913 by Chapter 398, which called for "the survey and construction of a state highway from the point known as Saratoga Gap on the line between the counties of Santa Clara and Santa Cruz, extending thence by the practicable route in a generally SW-ly direction along the ridge between the San Lorenzo and Pescadero creeks to the present boundary of the California State Redwoods Park, thence into the California State Redwoods Park in Santa Cruz County to Governor's Camp, and thence through said park to the boundary thereof at Bloom's Mill."
[LRN 5] near Los Gatos to Governor's Camp in California Redwood Park via Saratoga Gap and along the ridge between San Lorenzo and Pescadero Creeks.
This definition remained until the 1963 renumbering. The route is the present-day Route 236 between Governor's Camp near Big Basin and the Route 9/Route 269 junction, and then Route 9 to Route 17 (former LRN 5). The California Redwood State Park Road ("from Saratoga Gap, on the line between the counties of Santa Clara and Santa Cruz, to, into and within California Redwood Park...") was defined in 1913. The remainder of the route (to Route 17 near Los Gatos) was defined in 1933. The Route 9 signage dates back to 1934.
Route 119 to Route 46 in Wasco.
This segment was signed as Route 43 before 1964, but was not part of the initial 1934 signage of routes. It was LRN 139 (defined in 1939) between US 399 (LRN 140; present-day Route 119) and US 466 (LRN 33; present-day Route 46).
Route 43/Route 119 Roundabout (KER 0.1/0.4)
In May 2016, the CTC approved for future consideration of funding a project that will construct a roundabout at the intersection of Route 43, Route 119, and Enos Lane near the city of Taft. The project is programmed in the 2014 State Highway Operation and Protection Program. The total programmed amount is $9,761,000 for capital and support. Construction is estimated to begin in Fiscal Year 2017-18. The scope, as described for the preferred alternative, is consistent with the project scope programmed by the Commission in the 2014 State Highway Operation and Protection Program. A copy of the MND has been provided to Commission staff. The project will result in less than significant impacts to the environment after mitigation. The following resource area may be impacted by the project: biological resources. Avoidance and minimization measures will reduce any potential effects on the environment. These measures include, but are not limited to, environmentally sensitive areas will be established for the Giant kangaroo rat, Tipton kangaroo rat, San Joaquin kit fox, and the Blunt-nosed leopard lizard, pre-construction field surveys will be conducted, and ESA fencing will be used.
In June 2018, the CTC was informed of the following
allocation: 2.5f(3) Item 3:$5,146,000 Kern 06-Ker-43 0.1/0.4. PPNO 6698. Route
43 Near Bakersfield, at the intersection of Route 43 and Route 119. Outcome/Output: Construct roundabout
to reduce the number and severity of traffic collisions.
(Source: CTC Agenda, June 2018 Agenda Item 2.5f(3) Item 3)
In August 2011, the CTC approved a locally-administered STIP project for $42,000 in Wasco, from Filburn Avenue to Poso Drive (~ KER R23.626 to KER R24.121), that will construct 3,357 linear feet of median curbs, 2,114 linear feet of curb and gutter, 12,890 square feet of sidewalk, 2,367 linear feet of 6-foot tall block walls, and one mile of bike lanes.
This is currently called "Enos" Lane. (~ KER 0.1 to KER 13.506)
The portion of Route 43 from East Los Angeles Street (approx. KER-043-15.83) to Fresno Avenue (approx. KER-043-17.968) in the City of Shafter in the County of Kern as the "Staff Sergeant Ricardo “Ricky” Barraza Memorial Highway". It was named in memory of Staff Sergeant Ricardo “Ricky” Barraza, who was born inMay 1981, in Toppenish, Washington. Having moved with his family at a young age to Shafter, California, Ricky demonstrated his athletic talents in basketball, football, and track while attending Shafter High School. Following his graduation from Shafter High School in 1999, Ricky chose to dedicate his life to serving his country and enlisted in the United States Army on August 5, 1999. Staff Sergeant Ricky Barraza brought distinction to his country as a six-time veteran of the Global War on Terrorism, having been deployed three times in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom in Iraq and three times in support of Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan. On March 18, 2006, during his third deployment in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom, where he had been promoted to squad leader and assigned to the 2nd Battalion, 75th Ranger Regiment, based at Fort Lewis, Washington, Staff Sergeant Ricky Barraza, at 24 years of age, was killed by enemy small arms fire in the line of duty during a combat mission in western Iraq while helping to evacuate a building. Staff Sergeant Ricky Barraza, at the time of his passing, left his parents, his three sisters, his brother, his fiancee, and her daughter. Staff Sergeant Ricky Barraza received various awards and decorations during his service in the United States Army, including the Army Commendation Medal with two Oak Leaf Clusters, the Army Achievement Medal with Oak Leaf cluster, and the Army Good Conduct Medal with a two-knot rope, among many others. Staff Sergeant Ricky Barraza also was posthumously awarded the Bronze Star Medal for valor, the Purple Heart Medal, and the Meritorious Service Medal. Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution (ACR) 70, 8/30/2017, Res. Chapter 134, Statutes of 2017.
This segment was historically called the "Central Valley Highway" (~ KER 15.855 to KER R25.113).
Route 46 in Wasco to Route 99 near Selma.
This segment was signed as Route 43 before 1964, but was not part of the initial 1934 signage of routes. It was LRN 135 (originally defined in 1933, extended and rerouted in 1953, 1959, and 1961) between US 99 (LRN 4) and US 466 (LRN 33; present-day Route 46).
Widening - Corcoran to Selma (KIN 0.00 to FRE 9.141)
There are plans to widen this to a four lane expressway from the Kings County line to Route 99 in Selma in Fresno County (~ FRE 0.000 to FRE 9.141). This is TCRP Project #94. However, due to budgetary problems, work on this has been suspended. Funding was deallocated due to inactivity in September 2005.
In March 2016. it was reported that Kings County
had a 20-year wish list totaling approximately $1.2 billion to transition a
number of highways to four lanes: Route 43 from Corcoran to Selma (~ KIN 0.000
to KIN 27.286); Route 41 from Lemoore to Kettleman City and Route 198 from
Naval Air Station Lemoore to I-5. However, Kings County is only expected to get
$3.5 million from the State Transportation Improvement Plan (STIP) designed for
capacity increasing projects in the 2013-2014 period.
(Source: Andy3175 @ AAroad, March 2016; Hartford Sentinal, 9/7/2013).
Corcoran Roundabout (~ KIN 2.334)
Caltrans is exploring creating a roundabout on this route at the intersection of Route 43/Route 137 in Corcoran (~ KIN 2.334). Other potential/planned roundabout locations in the San Joaquin Valley include Route 145/Jensen near Kerman, Route 168/Auberry Road in Prather, Route 155/Browning Road in Delano, Route 216/Route 245 in Woodlake, Route 190/Road 284 east of Porterville, and Route 190/Road 152 east of Tipton. A 2007 study of 55 roundabouts in the U.S. found a 35% reduction in accidents and a 90% reduction in fatal accidents when intersections with stop signs or signals were converted to roundabouts. It costs about the same to build a roundabout as to put up traffic signals, and they need significantly less maintenance than traffic signal intersections -- about 60% to 90% less, depending on how much landscaping work is required.
In May 2016, the CTC approved for future consideration of funding a project in Kings County that will construct a roundabout at the intersection of Route 43 and Route 137 near the city of Corcoran. The project is programmed in the 2014 State Highway Operation and Protection Program. The total programmed amount is $4,400,000 for capital and support. Construction is estimated to begin in Fiscal Year 2016-17. The scope, as described for the preferred alternative, is consistent with the project scope programmed by the Commission in the 2014 State Highway Operation and Protection Program. A copy of the ND has been provided to Commission staff. The project will result in less than significant impacts to the environment.
Lacy Blvd Roundabout (~ KIN 18.497)
In May 2016, the CTC authorized $425,000 for a project in King County near Hanford that will construct a roundabout at the intersection of Route 43 and realign Lacey Boulevard. Outcome/Output: Construct a roundabout to improve capacity operations and safety.
In December 2016, it was reported that the the new
roundabout was basically complete, but was still is missing an even grade and
proper signage. The far right lane in the roundabout accesses Route 43 north
while the left goes to Lacey Blvd westbound.
(Source: Max R on AARoads, April 2017)
In October 2006, the CTC had a resolution to relinquish right of way in the city of Hanford, at 0.5 mile north westerly of Fargo Avenue (~ KIN 21.007), consisting of frontage road.
In May 2009, the CTC relinquished right of way in the county of Fresno along Route 43 on Conejo Avenue (~ FRE 5.343), consisting of a reconstructed county road.
The portion of this route from Route 46 in Wasco to Selma (~ KER 25.277 to FRE 9.188) was historically called the "Central Valley Highway".
The interchange at Route 43 and Route 198 in the County of Kings (approx. KIN-043-18.256) is named the "CHP Officer Keith M. Giles Memorial Interchange". Keith Melvin Giles was born in July 1940, to Melvin and Thelma Giles, in Tulare, California. Keith Giles had three siblings: Gary, who was Keith’s twin brother, Linda, and Greg. Keith Giles graduated from Corcoran High School in 1957, graduated from the College of the Sequoias shortly thereafter, and also attended Fresno State College. Keith Giles proudly served in the United States Army from 1963 to 1965 and achieved the rank of corporal. Prior to becoming a California Highway Patrol officer, Keith Giles worked as a farmer and was actively involved in the community. Officer Giles graduated from the California Highway Patrol Academy on May 28, 1970, with CTC I-70 and, upon graduation, he was assigned to the Santa Fe Springs Area where he proudly served for approximately four years. Officer Giles, badge number 7403, was killed in the line of duty on August 25, 1974, while making a traffic stop shortly after 2:00 a.m. He was standing on the left side of the stopped vehicle when a passing car drifted over the edge of the roadway and struck him, killing him almost instantly. The errant driver apparently dozed off and may have been under the influence of alcohol. Officer Giles was a hardworking, dedicated officer who loved his job and enjoyed the people he worked with. He was known for his devotion to his family and his love of law enforcement. Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution (ACR) 159, Res. Chapter 123, Statutes of 2016, on August 16, 2016.
Overall statistics for Route 43:
The route that would become LRN 43 was first defined in 1917 by Chapter 697, which called for inclusion in the state highway system of the route "...beginning at a point in Waterman Cyn at the termination of the pavement of the San Bernardino County highway system, thence following the meanderings of the road known as the "Crest Drive" into Bear Valley, ending at a point directly opposite the most easterly point of Bear Lake." The 1919 Third Bond Issue extended the route from Deep Creek to Metcalf Creek, specifically "Deep Creek easterly via Bear Valley Dam to the county road at Metcalf Creek in the Angeles National Forest (Arrowbear to the Eastern End of Big Bear Lake)." This ran along the S side of Big Bear Lake.
In 1931, it was extended further, from [LRN 43], Waterman Canyon via Santa Ana Canyon to Newport Beach. This was a routing from San Bernardino to the coast through the cities lying northeast and southwest of the Santa Ana Rivers. It represented the most direct line to the coast through an area that includes Colton, Riverside, Corona, Santa Ana, and Orange. The route was well-fed by local inter-community and inter-county traffic. There was also a large amount of recreational traffic seeking the mountain through San Bernardino, Redlands, and Riverside. As there was rapid development in the area, the state wanted to adopt the route while they could.
It is unclear, for a time, whether there was a distinct routing between LRN 9 and LRN 26. This is illustrated in the 1944 map to the right.
In 1933, the route was extended further, from [LRN 31] from Victorville to [LRN 43] near Big Bear Lake via Baldwin Lake. It was also extended to complete the circle around Big Bear Lake. Thus, the route was codified in the 1935 highway code as:
Newport Beach to [LRN 31] near Victorville, via Santa Ana Canyon, San Bernardino, Waterman Canyon, "Crest Drive" into Bear Valley, Big Bear Lake and Baldwin Lake. [LRN 43] includes a highway around Big Bear Lake.
In 1961, Chapter 1146 amended the definition to delete the reference to “"Crest Drive" into Bear Valley”.
Signage on the route was as follows: LRN 43 was signed as Route 55 until the Route 55/US 91 junction (present-day Route 55/Route 91 junction), and then as US 91 into San Bernardino (now Route 91 to Riverside, and I-215 to San Bernardino). Between present-day I-10 and Route 30 in San Bernardino, the original surface routing of LRN 43 is now I-215 and Route 259.
From Route 30 in San Bernardino N, LRN 43 was signed as Route 18 (and encompassed all of the present day Route 18 between San Bernardino and Victorville, except for the portion around Big Bear Lake). The northern route around the lake was also LRN 43, and was originally Route 18 but is now Route 38.
In 2002, a highway location routing for Route 299 was adopted along Lake Boulevard from Route 273 to I-5. Concurrent with this action, the segment of Route 273 from Route 299 at Market Street to Route 273 at Lake Boulevard will be cosigned Route 273/Route 299. The former Route 299 segment from Route 299 at Market Street to I-5 will be designated as Route 44.
Chris Sampang noted that before the extension of Route 44 into downtown Redding (and the removal of the Route 299/I-5 multiplex from Route 44 north to Lake Boulevard), Route 44 east began at the cloverleaf ramp where Route 299 east merged onto I-5 north; Route 44 west ended when the ramps from I-5 merged onto the Route 299 freeway. Now that Route 44 has been extended on the former Route 299 freeway, the legislative definition (of Route 44 beginning at Route 299) has not changed, but the streets leading from the former Route 299 freeway onto Route 273 do not directly connect to the current Route 299/Route 273 multiplex. It is unknown whether Route 44 is co-signed on the former Route 299/Route 273 portion of Market Street from Eureka Way south to Shasta and Tehama Streets (the ramps leading to the freeway) or whether Route 44 actually ends at Route 273 (with the definition not having been updated yet.)
When US 299 was signed, Route 44 was resigned to this routing. It dates to 1935. There are three distinct segments to this route:
Between US 99 (LRN 3) in Redding and Manzanita Lake. By 1956, this was signed as Route 44. In the initial 1934 signage of state routes, this segment was signed as Route 440. It was LRN 20, defined in 1933.
From the Old Oregon Trail exit in east Redding through Palo Cedro and Millville, there is an "Old 44 Drive" that apparantly was bypassed when the Route 44 freeway and expressway were built (~ SHA R3.619 to SHA R10.777). The newer portion of Route 44 includes a Super-Two type interchange at Deschutes Road south of Palo Cedro.
In August 2005, the CTC considered improvements to Route 44 in Shasta County to increase capacity and improve operations and safety in Redding.
In his 2006 Strategic Growth Plan, Governor Schwartzenegger proposed improvements to the Route 299/Route 44/Route 36 area. These would complete "Buckhorn" to allow STAA trucks to travel direct from I-5 at Redding to US 101 near Eureka and into the Port of Humboldt, now prohibited due to the existing curvilinear alignment that causes truck off tracking. This is the only viable alternative to get STAA trucks into the north coast. STAA trucks cannot access the Port on US 101 north due to environmental restrictions at Richardson's Grove that pre-empt major improvements to the route. Route 44 widening reduces congestion in the Redding urbanized area and also improves inter-regional through movement for people and goods.
In 2007, the CTC considered a number of requests for funding from the Corridor Mobility Improvement Account (CMIA). None were recommended for funding. These requests were: widening the route to 6 lanes from Dana to Downtown, and extending the four lane freeway to Palo Cedro (Stillwater) (~ SHA R0.157 to SHA R6.986).
In June 2017, the CTC authorized SHOPP funding for the following project: Shasta 02-Sha-44 R4.6/R6.4 $5,770,000 Route 44: Near Palo Cedro, from Clough Creek bridge to 0.6 mile west of Deschutes Road overcrossing. Outcome/Output: Improve at-grade intersection operations and safety by constructing an overcrossing at Stillwater Road with right-turn-only in and out movements to Route 44. Future consideration of funding approved under Resolution E-05-14; August 2005.
The SAFETEA-LU act, enacted in August 2005 as the reauthorization of TEA-21, provided the following expenditures on or near this route:
In June 2016, the CTC authorized $2,700,000 for a project on Route 44 in Shasta County (PM 44.9/45.5) near Viola, from 1.7 miles to 1.1 miles west of North Battle Creek Reservoir Road. Outcome/Output: Provide standard shoulders, and improve roadway alignment, cross slope, and clear recovery zone to increase safety and reduce the number and severity of collisions.
In October 2017, the CTC added the following into the SHOPP: 02-Sha-44 51.6/52.2: On Route 44 in Shasta County: Near Viola, from 0.4 mile east to 1.1 mile east of Bridge Creek Road. Improve curve.
In December 2006, the CTC considered a resolution to vacate right of way in the county of Shasta, about 4.3 miles northeasterly of the junction of Route 44 and Route 89, consisting of right of way no longer needed for State highway purposes. (approx SHA 52.767)
In May 2018, the CTC approved for future consideration of funding a project
for which a Negative Declaration (ND) has been completed: Route 44 in Shasta
County. Replace existing bridge on Route 44 near the community of Old Station.
(PPNO 3843) (02-Sha-44, PM 59.4/59.8) This project is located on Route 44 near
the community of Old Station in Shasta County and proposes demolition and
removal of the Hat Creek Bridge. The project also proposes roadway widening and
culvert, guardrail, and sign installation. The project proposes to address
various issues regarding the deterioration of the bridge and its current design
standards which could lead to permit load limitations and/or bridge closure.
The proposed project is estimated to cost $5.2 million in construction capital.
The project is fully funded and is currently programmed in the 2018 State
Highway Operation and Protection Program (SHOPP) for an estimated total of $9.8
million which includes Construction (capital and support) and Right-of-Way
(capital and support). Construction is estimated to begin in Fiscal Year (FY)
2018-19. The scope, as described for the preferred alternative, is consistent
with the project scope programmed by the California Transportation Commission
(Commission) in the 2016 SHOPP.
(Source: CTC Agenda, May 2018 Agenda Item 2.2c(1))
The following project was included in the final adopted 2018 SHOPP in March 2018: PPNO 3609. 02-Lassen-44 31.9/32.6. On Route 44. Near Susanville, from 0.3 mile west to 0.4 mile east of Big Springs Road. Curve improvement. Begin Con: 10/23/2018. Total Project Cost: $5,175K.
Portions are the "Feather Lake" Highway. This is named by location.
The portion of Route 44 from East Street to Victor Avenue (~ SHA L0.315R to SHA R1.242) in the City of Redding is named the "Richard “Dick” Dickerson Memorial Highway". It was named in memory of Richard “Dick” Dickerson, who had an exemplary career in law enforcement and as a government leader with service both in the California State Assembly and the Redding City Council. Dickerson served in the Assembly from 1998 to 2002, inclusive, representing the 2nd Assembly District, which included the northern California Counties of Colusa, Glenn, Shasta, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, and parts of the Counties of Butte and Yolo. As a result of redistricting, the County of Shasta, which includes the City of Redding, is now in the 1st Assembly District. Dickerson, a former 30-year law enforcement officer, brought commonsense experience to the office and became a voice for crime victims during his first term as vice chair of the Assembly Committee on Public Safety. Dickerson served as vice chair of the Assembly Committee on Water, Parks, and Wildlife during both of his terms in the Assembly. In negotiations with the Governor during his first term, Dick Dickerson secured $20 million to complete studies on aboveground water storage as a major concession for the legislative passage of water bond legislation. Dickerson was a staunch supporter of the proposed Sites Reservoir in Colusa County and raised awareness among the Members of the Legislature that additional storage was needed to meet the water supply needs of a growing state. Along with the Northern California Water Association, he successfully pushed forward the audit of California’s land acquisition policies. While in the Assembly, Dickerson retained a seat on the Assembly Committee on Natural Resources and authored legislation to remove vegetation that had become hazardous fuel so it could be used as energy-producing biomass. As a member of the Assembly Committee on Budget specializing in the resources area, Dick Dickerson obtained $4.58 million for the Department of Forestry and Fire Protection and the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, known at the time as the Department of Corrections, to pay for the reactivation of fire crews composed of nonviolent inmates from 17 conservation camps throughout California. These inmates were utilized for assistance with fighting fires, emergency flood work, and environmental restoration, with seven of the camps located in northern California and five located within Assembly Member Dickerson’s district. During his time in the Assembly, Dickerson sat on more committees than any other Republican member. His committee assignments throughout his term in office included chair of the Assembly Committee on Veterans Affairs, vice chair of the Committee on Water, Parks, and Wildlife, and member of the Committees on Natural Resources, Public Safety, Budget, Governmental Organization, Insurance, Health, and Energy Costs and Availability. In the wake of the September 11, 2001, tragedy, Dick Dickerson was appointed to the Task Force on Terrorism. Dickerson served on nine select committees, including CALFED, Juvenile Justice, Air and Water Quality, California Indian Nations, California Wine, Protection of Inland Waterways, Rural Economic Development, Department of Motor Vehicles, and Gun Violence. Dickerson authored 20 bills that were enacted during his time in the Assembly. During the 2001 legislative year, he had seven bills signed into law by Governor Gray Davis, including legislation to increase the presence of deputies and firefighters on our streets and in our communities, to enhance the protection of children from molesters, and to provide assistance for olive growers in their battle against the olive fruit fly. Legislation authored by Dickerson also established a rice industry certification system that allowed California farmers to compete globally. Also through legislation authored by Dickerson, local transportation dollars were returned to counties that incurred savings on their construction projects. Dickerson was an negotiator in the 2001 budget discussions, securing $8 million for the economic recovery in the Klamath Basin, a permanent sales tax exemption on agriculture and forestry equipment and parts, a permanent tax exemption on propane and agricultural diesel, $500,000 of ongoing funding for rural county sheriff’s departments, $70 million on tax relief for senior citizens, and $40 million in school equalization funding. The numerous awards and commendations Dickerson received throughout his tenure in the Assembly attest to his stellar record of public service, including Awards of Appreciation from the Far West Equipment Dealers Association, Klamath Water Users Association, and Rice Producers of California. After serving in the Assembly, Dickerson served on the Redding City Council from 2004 to 2012, inclusive, serving twice as mayor of the City of Redding. Dickerson passed away on September 28, 2014. Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution 53, Res. Chapter 134, Statutes of 2015, on August 11, 2015.
The portion of Route 44 between SHA R27.882 at Wilson Hill Road and SHA 35.930 at Airport Way in the County of Shasta is named the "Officer Jack Polen Memorial Highway". It was named in memory of Officer Jack Polen, who was born in November 1957. Officer Polen knew he wanted to become a California Highway Patrolman at a young age. He joined the ROTC program at Enterprise High School, where he graduated in 1975, and went on to earn an A.A. degree in Criminal Justice from Shasta College and a B.A. in Criminal Justice from California State University, Sacramento. Officer Polen graduated from the California Highway Patrol Academy in 1980, and was stationed in the areas of Redwood City, Woodland, and Redding before being assigned to the Route 44 beat in 2002. Officer Polen’s attitude, work ethic, and professionalism showed in his dedication to making Route 44 as safe as it could be. During his four years patrolling Route 44, Officer Polen drove 126,251 miles, wrote 3,436 citations, and made 125 DUI arrests, saving many lives and earning himself the nickname “The 44 Enforcer”. Officer Polen lost his battle with cancer on December 9, 2013, at the age of 56. Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution (ACR) 135, Res. Chapter 121, Statutes of 2016 on August 16, 2016.
The Bear Creek Bridge in Shasta County, located on the portion of Route 44 between post mile R14.445 (facing westbound) and post mile R14.489 (facing eastbound), as the "Deputy Dennis "Skip" Sullivan Memorial Bridge". It was named in memory of Deputy Sheriff Dennis "Skip" Sullivan, of the Shasta County Sheriff's Office, who was killed in a traffic collision on Route 44, on October 10, 1987, while on his way to negotiate with a reportedly armed woman barricaded in a Mountain Gate home. Deputy Sullivan had been performing duties as a dedicated member of the Sheriff's Office Hostage Negotiation Team for four years. Deputy Sullivan served 11 years with the South San Francisco Police Department, where as a sergeant he supervised the operations division and the community relations and crime prevention programs. Deputy Sullivan continued to exemplify professional commitment and leadership during his assignment by designing and implementing the South San Francisco Police Department's field training program. Continuing his tradition of honorable and faithful service in law enforcement, in 1981, Deputy Sullivan joined the Shasta County Sheriff's Office. He served first as a resident deputy sheriff in the Shingletown area of Shasta County and then as a patrol deputy sheriff at the Palo Cedro substation. Deputy Sullivan, who was 41 years of age when he died, was survived by a son and two daughters. Deputy Sullivan was an avid fisherman and hunter who loved the Shasta County area and the people. Deputy Sullivan was killed when his vehicle collided with a semitruck on Route 44 east of Shingletown. As Deputy Sullivan was responding to the report of shots fired, heading west near Inwood Road, the trailer of an eastbound truck tipped over onto his small pickup. Witnesses report that Deputy Sullivan tried to avoid the trailer by moving to the extreme right of the road. The impact of the collision sheared off the top of the pickup and forced the pickup off the highway onto the north side of Route 44. Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution 39, Resolution Chapter 40, on June 27, 2011.
This route also has the following Safety Roadside Rest Areas:
The following segments are designated as Classified Landscaped Freeway:
|County||Route||Starting PM||Ending PM|
[SHC 253.1] Entire route (not completly constructed). Added to the Freeway and Expressway system in 1959.
Overall statistics for Route 44:
[SHC 164.12] Between the east urban limits of Redding and Route 36.
The routing that was to become LRN 44 was first defined in 1917 by Chapter 703, which added to the state highway system "...that certain road situated in Boulder Creek township, county of Santa Cruz... Beginning at the intersection of Main and Lorenzo Streets in the town of Boulder Creek, thence running in a NW-ly direction over the present traveled road to the Sequoia schoolhouse, thence running over the road known as the Boulder Creek and state park road to the E-ly boundary of the California Redwood Park..." This was captured in the 1935 state highway codes as:
From the intersection of Main and Lorenzo Streets in Boulder Creek to [LRN 42] at Governor's Camp in the California Redwood Park, via the Sequoia Schoolhouse and Bloom's Mill.
From Route 113 near Knights Landing to Route 20 near Sycamore.
The definition of this segment is unchanged from 1963
From Route 20 near Colusa to Route 32 near Hamilton City.
The definition of this segment is unchanged from 1963
The route between Route 45 near Sycamore and Colusa is signed as Route 45, although it is legislatively Route 20.
Route 45, along the Sacramento River between I-5 and CA 99, is the closest
thing the state has to a Deep South-style river-running highway; the towns
along its path, from Knights Landing up through Colusa and on to Hamilton City,
are most similar to towns encountered in Louisiana and Mississippi. Most of the
exterior scenes for the 1967 film "In The Heat Of The Night" were actually
filmed in and around Colusa (although the famous chase on the bridge was filmed
on the US 49 crossing of the Mississippi River at Helena, AR). South of Colusa,
Route 45 mostly stays off the levee, zig-zagging along property lines south to
its southern Knights Landing terminus at Route 113. If you hang around Knights
Landing for any time, be prepared to discuss hunting & fishing -- it's one
of the main bird-hunting centers in the Sacramento Valley; the area between the
Sacramento and Feather rivers is full of duck, goose, and pheasant blinds.
(Source: Sparker at AAroads, 8/19/2016)
In 1934, Route 35 was signed along the route from Jct. Route 24 (now Route 113) at Knights Landing to Jct. Route 32 Hamilton City, via Colusa. This segment was LRN 88. The portion between Route 20 and Route 162 was defined in 1959, and from Route 162 to Route 32 in 1933. It appears that the portion connecting the two segments of present day Route 162 were part of LRN 45.
The portion of Route 45 in Colusa County is designated as part of the National Purple Heart Trail in order to honor the men and women who have been wounded or killed in combat while serving in the United States Armed Forces. Additionally, the County of Colusa Veterans Tribute Wall was erected and dedicated on Veterans Day 2014 to recognize the honorable service and sacrifices made by all veterans who have lived, or do now reside, in the County of Colusa; it is located at the junction of Route 20 and Route 45, and is accessible via all state highways within the County of Colusa. Designed by Assembly Concurrent Resolution (ACR) 191, Res. Chapter 163, Statutes of 2016, on September 1, 2016.
The portion of this segment connecting the two segments of Route 162 is part of the "Biggs-Willows Road" (~ GLE 3.052 to GLE 7.492), named by Resolution Chapter 542 in 1919.
Bridge 11-0038, the "Stoney Creek Bridge" in Glenn County (GLE R020.66), is called the "Chet Walker Bridge". It was built in 1974. It was named after Chester W. Walker, who was known as "the mayor of Hamilton City". He served as chair of the North Sacramento Valley Highway Committee of the California Chamber of Commerce. He was a leader in an effort to replace the original narrow, dangerous bridge at this location.
[SHC 253.3] Entire portion. Added to the Freeway and Expressway system in 1959.
Overall statistics for Route 45:
The route that would become LRN 45 was first defined in 1919 by Chapter 54, which stated "That certain highway beginning at a point on the present state highway in Butte county about 3 mi N-ly of the town of Biggs, thence extending W-ly and crossing Cherokee Canal and Butte Creek and extending through Butte City and across the Sacramento River, thence N-ly to Glenn Post Office, thence W-ly to the town of Willows in Glenn County ... is hereby constituted a state highway..." This was codified into the 1935 state highway code as:
From Route 1 near Cambria to Route 101 near Paso Robles.
This segment is as defined in 1963.
Between the initial state signage of routes in 1934 and the 1964 signed/legislative route alignment, this segment was signed as Route 41, and was a 1933 extension of LRN 33. It ran along Santa Rosa Creek Road until re-aligned sometime around 1970 to the current routing to Cambria. See the map below.
Templeton Roundabout (05-SLO-46 R17.2/R17.6)
In October 2017, it was reported that Caltrans is
considering replacing the four-way stop and blinking light at Route 46 and
Vineyard Dr. in Templeton with a traffic circle. Traffic circles, long popular
in Europe, have been employed in more limited numbers in the U.S. For instance,
there’s a two-lane roundabout in Morro Bay, at Morro Bay Boulevard and
Quintana Road, just west of the Route 1 exit. However, earlier in 2017,
Templeton residents rejected a plan to install a roundabout near the Main
Street-US 101 interchange that would have cost $10 million to $16.5 million.
Concerns about roundabout safety and their suitability for truck traffic helped
stall that proposal.
(Source: San Luis Obispo Tribune, 10/5/2017)
In January 2018, the CTC made the following SHOPP
amendment: 05-SLO-46 R17.2/R17.6 Route 46 Near Paso Robles, at Route 46 West
intersection with Vineyard Drive. Construct roundabout. PA&ED: 01/12/2018
R/W: 10/9/2019 RTL: 1/9/2020 BC: 8/19/2020. Total Cost: $9,402,000.
(Source: CTC Agenda, January 2018, Agenda Item 2.1a(1))
This segment is officially named the "Eric Seastrand Memorial Highway" (~ SLO R0.000 to SLO R21.852). Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution No. 22, Chapter 75, in 1993. Eric Seastrand served in the California State Assembly from 1983 to 1985, serving San Luis Obispo County, representing California's 22nd District, home to Vandenberg Air Force Base. He was very active in the establishment of the California Spaceport Authority.
[SHC 263.4] Entire portion.
From Route 101 in Paso Robles to Route 99 near Famoso via Cholame Pass.
As defined in 1963, this segment ran from "Route 101 in San Luis Obispo County to Route 99 near Bakersfield via Cholame Pass." In 1965, Chapter 1371 changed the terminus to "Route 99 near Famoso via Cholame Pass." In 1992, Chapter 1243 made the origin more specific: "Route 101 in Paso Robles"
Between the late 1950s and 1964, this route (from Paso Robles to Shandon) was signed as US 466. It was LRN 33, and was defined in 1915. (Prior to the late 1950s, it appears that US 466 was routed along LRN 125 -- it is unclear if Route 41 was shifted to LRN 125 when US 466 was shifted to LRN 33 between Paso Robles and Shandon). It was cosigned with Route 41 between Shandon and Cholame. The portion between Route 101 and Shandon was unconstructed in 1935. US 466 continued S from Route 99 in Bakersfield to the Nevada State Line, along the routing of what is now Route 58 (LRN 58) to Barstow, and then N on US 91 (now I-15; LRN 31)
The Route 46 signage was not defined in 1934. It is likely that Route 46 was first signed in 1964 with the decomissioning of US 466, taking over what had been Route 41 to Cambria, and former US 466 from Paso Robles to points East. The route that became Route 46 was adopted into the California Highway System in 1915 and was made part of the California Freeway and Expressway System in 1971 as a Controlled Access Highway. Within the county, this highway crosses terrain that transitions from gently rolling rangeland to level agricultural land and small urban areas. Route 46 has been designated as a State Highway Terminal Access Route for larger trucks under the Federal Surface Transportation Act of 1982. Route 46, from its junction with Route 101 to its junction with I-5, is a State Highway Extra Legal Load (SHELL) Route and is included in the National Highway System. Route 46 is also a High Emphasis Interregional Route. The route is designated for explosives, hazardous materials (including rocket fuel), and trucks up to 105 feet in length. On a year-around basis, Route 46 is a significant interregional route for agricultural products, and truck traffic accounts for 40% of the Average Annual Daily Traffic (AADT).
In December 2017, the Caltrans Mile Marker published the following chart to show the progress of the various segments of construction. It may prove useful for the discussion below:
|Segment||Length (Mi)||Phase||Construction Cost (Million)
(* = Unfunded)
|Cholame||4.4||Design / Right of Way||$55.0|
|Segment 4A||3.0||Design / Right of Way||$17.5|
Union Road Intersection Improvements
In June 2015, the CTC allocated $450,000 for the Route 46/Union Road Intersection Improvements. This project is in Paso Robles, at the Route 46/Union Road Intersection (apx. SLO 35.009), and consists of construction of intersection improvements, including new local roads and interchange.
The 2018 STIP, approved at the CTC March 2018 meeting, appears to allocate $800K in Advance Project Development Element (APDE) funding for PS&E in FY19-20 for PPNO 2528 Rt 46/Union Road Intersection improvements.
In December 2012, the CTC approved $4,300,000 to replace the Estrella River Bridge near Paso Robles as it was structurally deficient (approx SLO 40.01).
Improvements Near Shandon (SLO 46.0 to SLO 50.2)
In October 2015, the CTC approved $55,200K in funding for 05-SLO-46 46/50.2 Route 46 Corridor Improvements (Whitley 2B). Near Shandon, from 0.2 mile east of McMillan Canyon Road to 0.4 mile west of Lucy Brown Road. (CEQA - EIR, 5/19/2006.) (NEPA - FONSI, 5/19/2006.) (Future Consideration of Funding approved under Resolution E-06-23; July 2006.)
In the December 2017 Mile Marker, Caltrans noted: "A five-mile widening of the highway near Shandon is now underway, and the $47 million project is expected to be complete by the end of 2018. Plans call for construction to the Cholame area. The projected $55 million project is expected to begin in late 2019."
In June 2018, it was reported that concrete has
started to flow for the new Cholame Creek Bridge, west of the Shandon Roadside
Rest Area (~ SLO 048.32). Subsuming as part of the bridge’s new permanent
structure the ‘lost deck,’ which had been visible to motorists
until the weekend, the new form should be ready to be stressed by the end of
June. The new infrastructure is expected to last 70 years. The
“stressing” will come in the form of cables running through the
structure pulled taught underneath, a design allowing for fewer ground
supports. It will be an improvement for the creek as there were three supports
before. With materials chosen for durability under heavy truck traffic, the
concrete slab roadway east leading up to the bridge is mostly ready for
connection, but drivers on the stretch are still using the eventual westbound
lanes to go both ways until that’s been done.
(Source: Paso Robles Press, 6/4/18)
Route 41/Route 46 Interchange (approx SLO 55.173)
In May 2017, it was reported that concern had
arisen again regarding the safety of Route 46, especially its interchange with
Route 41. More than a decade of efforts to widen the critical valley-coast link
paid off in 2009 when construction started. The widening work has made the road
safer, giving drivers a swifter route around slow-moving semi-trucks, toy
haulers and RVs. But it hasn’t prevented accidents and deaths in the
shrinking section where the traffic still slides past on two side-by-side
lanes. Construction crews are working to close that gap and link the finished
widening projects in both counties. San Luis Obispo County transportation
planners are searching for money to improve the Antelope grade and — just
to the west — the infamous “Y” intersection of Route 41 and
Route 46. Jim Shivers, a spokesman for Caltrans District 5, wrote in an email
that road builders have been fighting for years to widen Route 46 and eliminate
the head-on or T-bone collisions that can take such a high toll in lives. But
there is only so much money and the design, environmental and construction of
the improvements can only move at a certain pace. That’s why Caltrans has
installed lighted warning lights at the “Y” intersection between
Route 41 and Route 46 and added heavy rumble strips between the two lanes of
traffic to quickly remind drivers who drift across lanes to get back on their
side of the line, Shivers wrote. But even those efforts can’t stop
drivers from making mistakes or risky maneuvers like the one that cost Villegas
his life at the intersection of Route 41 and Route 46. [Which is why the
ultimate solution is likely an appropriate roundabout, if space permits - DPF]
The final solution is to complete the widening work on Route 46 between I-5 and
US 101 in Paso Robles. Most of the widening work in Kern County has been
completed, taking four lanes of asphalt east more than 27 miles from the San
Luis Obispo County line to within striking distance of I-5. The last 6-mile
stretch from Brown Material Road to I-5 has yet to be constructed but efforts
to fund and design it are underway. Construction on the San Luis Obispo side
brings the wider route closer to Kern County every day. Currently, heavy
equipment is working near the small community of Shandon. That phase of the
project will end just past the Shandon rest stop. According to Shiver, work on
the environmental review for the next phase, the 5 miles from the rest stop to
Jack’s Ranch Café, is ongoing with funding for the work expected to be
available in the 2020-21 fiscal year. After that, the transportation agency
will tackle the two final segments. They will include construction of an
interchange of some sort between Route 41 and Route 46 — eliminating the
traffic conflict that contributed to the death of legendary actor James Dean in
1955 and Villegas earlier this month. The final piece of the puzzle will be
widening the road up the Antelope Grade to the Kern County line.
(Source: Bakersfield.Com, 5/20/2017)
In March 2018, the CTC awarded $197 million for
Route 46 improvements. The state money will allow his county's transportation
agency to continue widening Route 46, "including grade separation at the Route
41 Wye intersection, our major connection between the Central Coast and the
valley." The Cholame Y area has been dubbed “Blood Alley,” as
it’s seen three times the number of motorist fatalities than the state
average, according to Caltrans. Plans call for new interchange that would
eliminate the need for northbound traffic to cross Route 46 onto Route 41. The
stretch of the highway has been a danger zone for decades for motorists, who
whiz by in opposite directions without roadway separation.
(Source: San Luis Obispo Tribune, 3/23/2018)
With respect to HPP #3637, the CTC had on its October 2006 agenda a resolution that proposed to approve the project for future consideration of funding. This project in Kern and San Luis Obispo Counties is to construct a 4-lane expressway. This project is fully funded in the 2006 State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) for $72,500,000 for capital and support. Construction is estimated to begin in Fiscal Year (FY) 2007-2008. A negative EIR was completed in October 2006.
In his 2006 Strategic Growth Plan, Governor Schwartzenegger proposed widening important east west inter-regional routes in San Luis Obispo County for people and goods movement.
TCRP Project #113 Route 46 Expressway (KER 0.0 to apx. KER 32.482)
There is currently a push to make a segment of the route a four-lane expressway. Initial plans are for the expressway portion to run from US 101 to I-5, but the expressway may be extended as far as Route 99. TCRP Project #113 will widen this to four lanes for 33 miles from I-5 to the San Luis Obispo County line in Kern County. The overall project is to convert the existing Route 46 from a two-lane conventional highway to a four-lane expressway from Route 5 to the San Luis Obispo County line. The project also includes pavement rehabilitation and improves traffic operations and traffic safety. For delivery and implementation purposes, the project is separated into four segments. The environmental document for the entire corridor was completed in June 2005. The environmental document was delayed due to receiving the Biological Opinion from United States Fish and Wildlife Services in April 2005. Two of the segments are ready to begin right-of-way acquisition. In October 2006, funds were requested from the CTC for this purpose. The project is projected to be completed in FY 2016/2017. In 2007, funding was requested from the Corridor Mobility Improvement Account. The construction of a four-lane expway from Geneseo to Almond (Whitley 1) [$105,000K total cost; $67,742K requested and recommended] was approved, but other corridor improvements (Whitley 2) [$94,000K requested] were not recommended. The CMIA was also recommended to fund widening of Route 46 to four-lanes between Kecks Rd and Route 33 ($49.9 milllion requested, $45 million approved, total cost $94.195 million). The first request for bids (for the segment from Airport Road To Geneseo Road was put out for bid in November 2007, with an estimate of $39M. In July 2010, the second segment (from 0.5 Mile West Of Geneseo Road To 0.6 Mile East Of Almond Drive) was put out for bid with an estimate of $51M. In Spring 2012, the segment from 0.1 Mile east of Almond Drive to 0.8 mile east of Mcmillan Canyon Road was put out for bid. In August 2012, the CTC reduced the original CMIA allocation for construction by $1,912,000, from $40,000,000 to $38,088,000, for the Route 46 Corridor Improvements (Whitley 2A) project (PPNO 0226G) in San Luis Obispo County, reflecting award savings.
In January 2007, the CTC considered a route adoption of 29.9 miles of Route 46 near the City of Lost Hills in the County of Kern as a Controlled Access Highway. This route adoption extends the limits of the 1971 adoption from PM 28.5 to PM29.9. The purpose of this project is to improve traffic operations, improve traffic safety, and correct any deficiencies in the existing roadway in order to meet all current design standards for a four-lane expressway with a standard 62-feet median in most places. The project improvements extend beyond the limits of the route adoption to 0.9 miles east of I-5. The proposed improvements include new lanes that will shift north and south from the existing alignment in order to avoid a natural creek, a canal, orchards and development along Route 46. The design speed within the expressway limits would be upgraded to 80 miles per hour and the existing roadbed would be rehabilitated to meet all current design standards. Within the community of Lost Hills (PM 29.9 to 30.8), a four-lane conventional highway is proposed with an 18-foot median. The median will act as a two way left turn lane. At I-5 and the business district, the 30-foot median will consist of a left turn lane in each direction separated by a curbed island. Several local roads and Route 33 will be realigned to provide a 90-degree approach to Route 46. This will improve the safety and the operations of these intersections. Route 33 will be constructed with exclusive right and left turn lanes, and storage for left turning movements. In addition, existing intersections within the project limits will be upgraded to accommodate Surface Transportation Assistance Act of 1982 trucks, which are roughly 69 feet long. Within the limits of the route adoption, one bridge will be replaced-the Bitter Water Creek Bridge (#50-437). Beyond the area of the route adoption, new structures include the California Aqueduct Bridge (#50-197), the Route 46/5 separation Bridge (#50-316), the Main Flood Canal Bridge (#50- 30), and the West Side Canal Bridge (#50-29).
The CTC considered a funding adjustment to the Route 46 Expressway — Segment 3 Project (PPNO 3386A) in June 2008. This project converts the existing two-lane highway on Route 46 to a four-lane expressway from post mile (PM) 6.8 to PM 19.8. This project will also correct any deficiencies in the existing roadway in order to meet current design standards. This project is a vital segment in converting the Route 46 corridor to four lanes between I-5 in Kern County and Route 101 in San Luis Obispo County.
In March 2009, the CTC was noticed that in April there would be a STIP amendment regarding the expressway. The overall project is to convert Route 46 from a two-lane conventional highway to a four-lane expressway from the San Luis Obispo/Kern County line to Route 5. The Route 46 corridor in Kern County comprises the following four segments, which together compose Traffic Congestion Relief Program (TCRP) Project 113:
Segment 1 (PPNO 3386), from Route 33 to east of Brown Material Road. Design (PS&E) of this segment is complete. Construction is programmed with regional shares (RIP), interregional shares (IIP), federal demonstration (Demo) and proposed TCRP funding.
Segment 2 (PPNO 3380A), from the San Luis Obispo County line to Kecks Road. PS&E of this segment is complete. Construction is programmed with RIP, IIP, Demo and proposed TCRP funding.
Segment 3 (PPNO 3386A), from Kecks Road to Route 33. PS&E is ongoing, but due to be finished March 2010. Construction is programmed with Corridor Mobility Improvement Account (CMIA), RIP, Demo and proposed TCRP funding, all in Fiscal Year (FY) 2009-10. This is a Tier 1 TCRP project.
The proposed STIP amendment will fully fund construction of Segments 1 and 2 without the use of TCRP funding, which will allow the remaining TCRP funding ($22,430,000) to be programmed to Segment 4 in the future. It will also account for cost estimate changes on several Segment 1 and 2 components, as well as for the difference between the federal apportionment and the obligation authority for Demo funding on Segments 1 and 2.
In September 2010, the CTC received notice of a proposal to amend the 2010 State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) to revise the funding plan for the Route 46 Expressway — Segment 4 project (PPNO 3386B) [in Wasco, from E of Browns Materials Road to I-5, conversion to a 4-lane expressway], reduce the programming for KCOG’s Planning, Programming and Monitoring (PPNO 6L03), and program two new projects, the 7th Standard Road 8-Lane project (PPNO 6267) [in Bakersfield, from Route 204 to 0.6 mi N of 7th Standard Road, which would widen the freeway from 6 to 8 lanes] and the Taft Highway 8-Lane project (PPNO 6268) [in Bakersfield from Route 119 to Wilson Road, widening the freeway from 6 to 8 lanes].
In September 2012, Caltrans held a groundbreaking ceremony today for the third phase of the $45 million Route 46 widening project, which will widen five miles of the highway from one to two lanes in each direction. Proposition 1B, the transportation bond approved by voters in 2006, is fully-funding this project. Phase one between Airport Road and Geneseo Road was completed in 2011 while work is currently underway on phase two of widening Route 46 from Geneseo Road to east of Almond Drive. Construction is expected to be completed in early 2013. Phase three will widen the highway from Almond Drive to McMillan Canyon Road.
In January 2013, the Kern County COG reported that
two of three segments along Route 46 from the Kern County line to just west of
I-5 that began widening construction in 2009-10 were complete and open to the
public. The two-lane highway west of I-5 in Kern County will be a four-lane
divided highway once Segment 3 is completed. Segment 1 (7.7 miles in length)
and segment 2 (7.3 miles) were opened in late 2011. Segment 3 is 12 miles long
and scheduled for completion by September 2014 but could be delivered up to one
year early, which would allow the traveling public to traverse the new 27-mile
4-lane highway as soon as the summer of 2013. Construction bids for all
segments have totaled nearly $100 million in federal, state and local funds.
(Source: Kern COG Winter 2012 Newsletter)
In June 2017, the TCRP #113 Route 46 Widening project received an infusion of the $26,372,000 in TCRP funds from program savings (on routes such as Route 132, Route 10, and Route 65, as well as projects off the state highway system). The overall project is being delivered in four segments: Segment 1 (PPNO 3386), Segment 2 (PPNO 3380A), Segment 3 (PPNO 3386A) and Segment 4A (PPNO 3386C). Segment 4 split into 4A and 4B. Segments 1, 2, and 3 are complete and open to traffic. Segment 4B is currently unfunded. Although design of Segment 4A is completed and a request for concurrent allocation for construction and Right of Way (R/W) on this month’s Commission agenda. The Route 46 Corridor in Kern County was originally authorized for $30,000,000 in TCRP funds, but a total of $22,430,000 in TCRP funds were removed from the project programming due to unavailability of funds. TCRP funding is now available due to the passage of SB 1 and Commission’s close-out policy of the TCRP program. The $26,372K transfer allows the project to address the project cost increases and matching funds requirement. The construction cost increase was primarily due to excavation, and increased imported borrow quantities and item cost increases. In addition $17,003,000 of federal Demonstration Program funds are being moved to the final segment, Segment 4B, of the corridor. The programming changes increase $25,310,000 for construction and $1,062,000 for R/W in TCRP funding, for a total TCRP programming of $28,001,000.
In October 2017, the CTC received a TCRP amendment that noted: The corridor is being delivered in segments, prior allocations on other segments total $5,941,000. Segment 4A (PPNO 3386C) was ready for allocation in June 2017, and received $26,372,000 in donated TCRP funding savings for a total TCRP programming and allocation of $28,001,000. The June 2017 actions along with prior allocations resulted in a total allocation for the Route 46 Corridor of $33,942,000. At this time, the TCRP programming and allocation must be reduced by $3,942,000 as it exceeds to authorized maximum available. This action restores TCRP Project 113 to its authorized maximum of $30,000,000.
In October 2017, the CTC made the following financial allocation: 06-Ker-46 30.5/ 33.5 Route 46 Widening - Segment 4A. In and near Lost Hills, from Lost Hills Road to 0.9 mile east of I-5. Widen from 2 to 4 lanes. $3,942,000
In December 2017, the Caltrans Mile Marker noted: "Meanwhile, Caltrans District 6, which oversees the state highway system in Kern County, has been improving Route 46 from the Central Valley side. Three project segments totaling 27.5 miles west to the Kern-SLO county line have been completed; travelers now enjoy a four-lane expressway with a wide median. The next phase of work in Kern County is scheduled to begin in early 2018, with a reconstruction of the Route 46 / I-5 interchange, and the widening of Route 46 to a four-lane highway with a raised median along a two-mile commercial zone. About $100 million was spent to complete the three Kern project segments. The upcoming construction is budgeted at about $18 million.
The December 2017 Mile Marker also noted: "The final 46 project in Kern proposes to close the 4.5-mile gap between finished sections through the community of Lost Hills and connect with I-5. The design phase of that project is expected to begin [in Summer 2018].
The 2018 STIP, approved at the CTC March 2018 meeting, appears to provide funding for Phase 4 PPNO 3386D, to the tune of $2,400K.
In January 2017, the CTC approved/amended $25,465,000 for a project on Route 46 Near Wasco (06-Ker-46 57.3/57.8), at Route 46/Route 99 Separation Bridge No. 50-0184E from 0.5 mile west of Route 46/Route 99 Separation to 0.1 mile east of Route 46/Route 99 Separation; also on Route 99 from PM R43.9 to 44.6. Outcome/Output: Replace bridge and realign southbound ramps to address structural deficiency and improve functionality and traffic operations. This project has been identified as the first of two pilot projects to include a Tier 4 off road diesel equipment emissions additive bid item.
The interchange at Route 101 and Route 46 East (~ SLO 29.841), and any subsequent interchange constructed to replace that interchange, in the City of Paso Robles is named the "California Highway Patrol Officer Brett J. Oswald Memorial Interchange". It was named in memory of Officer Brett James Oswald, who was born in 1962, to his parents Richard and Linda Oswald, in San Rafael, California. Officer Oswald graduated from Sam Barlow High School in Gresham, Oregon in 1980, received his associates degree from Central Texas College in Killeen, Texas in 1991, and furthered his education by completing courses at Rio Hondo Community College in Whittier, California, and Cuesta College, San Luis Obispo, California. Prior to joining the California Highway Patrol, Officer Oswald held several jobs, including film development, fabricating counter tops, custodial work for a local junior high school, military, and even assisting with his family's business. Officer Oswald, badge number 13164, graduated from the California Highway Patrol Academy in 1990 as a flight officer, and was assigned to the Santa Fe Springs Area Office. Officer Oswald subsequently served as a traffic officer in the King City Area Office, a flight officer in the Paso Robles Coastal Division Air Operations Office, and a traffic officer in the Templeton Area Office. Officer Oswald proudly served a total of 20 years and one month as a California Highway Patrol Officer. Officer Oswald was killed in the line of duty on June 27, 2010, in Paso Robles, California, when he was struck by a vehicle while waiting for a tow truck on the side of the road. He responded to a report that a vehicle had hit a tree on South River Road in Paso Robles. After investigating, Officer Oswald determined that no accident had occurred and that the vehicle was abandoned. He called for a tow truck and was waiting next to his patrol car, when a passing vehicle crossed the double yellow lines and struck the patrol car. The force of the impact pushed the patrol car into him. Officer Oswald was transported to a local hospital where he later died from his injuries. In his spare time, Officer Oswald enjoyed reading, photography, making people laugh, working on his property, and a good cigar from time to time. Above all else, Officer Oswald enjoyed spending time with his family. Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution 117, Resolution Chapter 63, June 29, 2012.
The portion of Route 46 from US 101 (~ SLO 29.841 to SLO 54.945) to Route 41 near Cholame is named the "Jack O'Connell" Highway. Jack O'Connell was a state senator authored the resolution that made that segment of Route 46 a double-fine zone as part of an overall safety enforcement effort on the route. Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution 78, Chapter 135, in 1997.
The Route 41/Route 46 junction near Cholame (~ 46 SLO 54.945) is named the "James Dean Memorial Junction". James Byron Dean was one of the most admired movie stars of all time and an icon of American culture. He was born on February 8, 1931, in Marion, Indiana; and later moved to California and attended Santa Monica City College and the University of California at Los Angeles. He is best known for his roles in "East of Eden," "Rebel Without a Cause," and "Giant," and also appeared on television shows and in a Broadway play. As a successful actor, he attained cult status in little more than a year's time, personifying the restless American youth of the mid-1950s. He was tragically killed on September 30, 1955, in an automobile crash on Route 46 in San Luis Obispo County while traveling in his automobile on the way to a racing event. Just two hours before the fatal crash, Dean was pulled over for speeding on Route 99 outside of Bakersfield. Retired officer Otie Hunter clocked Dean's car at 70 miles an hour. Dean told the officer he had bought the car just a few days before and was headed to the Monterey area to compete in a car race. He was given a warning. Around 9:00 PM, it was reported that James Dean had been killed in a car wreck. This interchange, which is near where he was killed, is still regularly visited by his fans. Dean's family, friends, and lawmakers lobbied for the designation, and on September 30, 2005 (50 years to the day he died), the state of California posted signs renaming the intersection where he crashed his silver Porsche, the James Dean Memorial Junction. Dean's close cousin, Marcus Winslow, accepted an official resolution and placed a rose at the accident scene. "On September 30,1955, at approximately 5:45 p.m. only a few feet from where we're standing here, Jimmy's life came to an abrupt and sorrowful end," said Winslow. Private donations paid for the two $400 signs, with the hope that the signs will serve as a safety reminder to drivers. Named by Senate Concurrent Resolution 52, Chapter 107, on August 15, 2002.
The portion of Route 46 within the city limits of the City of Wasco (~KER 46.046 to KER 51.561) is named the "Medal of Honor Recipient Larry Stanley Pierce Memorial Highway". It is named in memory of Larry Stanley Pierce, born on July 6, 1941, in Wewoka, Oklahoma. In 1958, Larry Stanley Pierce enlisted in the United States Army, where he rose to the rank of Staff Sergeant and served in the 1st Battalion of the 173rd Airborne Brigade. Larry Stanley Pierce served his country in the Republic of Vietnam during the Vietnam War and was assigned as a squad leader in charge of a reconnaissance platoon. On September 20, 1965, Larry Stanley Pierce and his platoon were ambushed by hostile forces with machine gun fire. Pierce and his platoon routed the ambushing force and gave chase in order to further suppress the attacking enemy. Pierce discovered an antipersonnel mine that could have destroyed his entire squad. He used his own body to absorb the blast from the mine, saving the lives of 29 of his soldiers. Larry Stanley Pierce was laid to rest at the Wasco Memorial Park in the City of Wasco, California, and President Lyndon B. Johnson posthumously awarded the Medal of Honor to Larry Stanley Pierce's wife, Verlin, his daughter, Teresa, and his sons, Kelley and Gregory, on February 14, 1966. Named by Assembly Concurrent Resolution (ACR) 60, Resolution Chapter 68, on 7/16/2009.
This route also has the following Safety Roadside Rest Areas:
Shandon, in San Luis Obispo County, 0.9 mi E of Route 41. (~ SLO 49.599)
[SHC 253.4] Entire portion. Added to the Freeway and Expressway system in 1959.
Overall statistics for Route 46:
The route that would become LRN 46 was first defined in the 1919 Third Bond Issue as running from Klamath River Bridge [LRN 3] to [LRN 1] near Klamath River. This was captured in the 1935 highway code as:
In 1949, Chapter 909 change the origin to be "a point on [LRN 3] near the Klamath River Bridge". In 1959, Chapter 435 added the following words permitting the route to be non-continuous:
Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 81 of this code, the department may maintain a traversable highway located in portions of this area between the termini of and approximately on this route even though the highway is not continuous.
This is present-day (partially unconstructed, route not determined) Route 169 between US 101 (LRN 1) near Klamath and Weitchpec. It is Route 96 between Weitchpec and the vicinty of Hawkinsville. Present-day I-5 bypasses the old US 99 route (LRN 3), which is now signed as Route 263.
From Route 110 in San Pedro to Route 10 via the Vincent Thomas Bridge. Route 47 also includes that portion of Henry Ford Avenue from Route 47 to Alameda Street and that portion of Alameda Street from Henry Ford Avenue to Route 91, but not that portion of the adopted route from Route 1 to Willow Street and that portion of the adopted alignment from Willow Street to Route 405.
As defined in 1963, Route 47 ran from "Route 7 (now I-710) at Terminal Island to Route 10." at this time, Route 7 (I-710) curved W along Seaside Parkway (a later change to Route 7 turned it to the E, but a later route change brought Route 710 back west for the Gerald Desmond Bridge). A proposed alignment of Route 47 was supposed to split off just north of the drawbridge from Terminal Island.
In 1965, Chapter 1372 added the portion from Route 11 (present-day I-110) to Route 7 (present-day I-710), making the route "Route 11 in San Pedro to Route 10 via the Vincent Thomas Bridge." A 1965 planning map shows this as freeway its entire length. There were later proposals that extended the Terminal Island Freeway as Route 47 north from its end at Willow Street rather than north of the drawbridge.
In 1975, the California Highway Commission rescinded the freeway adoption between Route 405 and Route 91. Note that this did not necessarily rescind any surfaces street adopted as the routing; it only rescinded the future freeway routing. The freeway routing was approved on January 22, 1969.
In 1982, the language was added to note that Route 47 shall also include that portion of Henry Ford Avenue from Route 47 to Alameda Street and that portion of Alameda Street from Henry Ford Avenue to Route 91, but note that portion of the adopted route from Route 1 to Willow Street and that portion of the adopted alignment from Willow Street to Route 405.
Although it didn't impact the legislative definition of Route 47, in 1984, Chapter 409 redefined Route 103 as "Route 47 in Long Beach to Route 1." This was a segment dropped from Route 47 in 1982. This route was signed as Route 47 after 1964, though the alignment of Route 47 actually splits off about ¼ mi north of the drawbridge from Terminal Island.
In other words, Route 47 was then switched back to Henry Ford Avenue and Alameda Street, and the remainder became Route 103. This appears to be what the legislative definition refers to when it mentions the adopted alignment ("but not that portion of the adopted route from Route 1 to Willow Street and that portion of the adopted alignment from Willow Street to Route 405"). The mention of the segment from Willow Street to Route 405 makes one believe that Route 103 originally ran to Route 405. The portion of freeway (now Route 103) from Route 1 to Willow Street is not state highway anymore.
The portion from Route 1 to Route 10 was the heart of the proposed "Industrial Freeway", and may have been intended to connect up with LRN 222, which would have run from I-5 (US 99) to I-110 (US 66). There would have then been a continuation (not known to be in the state highway system) that ran N to the I-5/Route 2 junction. Although the Terminal Island Freeway was on the drawing board since 1949 (ACSC proposal), the Industrial Freeway didn't show up until the mid-1950s. It appears to have been proposed to run roughly from Santa Fe, angling W to Wilmington, ending up near Central and present-day I-10. In 1963, it was reported that route location studies were initiated at the beginning of the year for the Industrial Freeway. After Route 103 was defined, the routing changed slightly to go from Alameda instead of Santa Fe, still ending up near Central and I-10. Note that a 1957 map shows a connection between Route 47 and Route 7 (I-710). Other maps show a connection to Route 91 near Wilmington.
This routing was unconstructed before 1964, but its routing was determined by 1963. It was LRN 167 for the portion between Gaffey Avenue and Alameda (current Route 47/Route 103 junction), and LRN 270 between Seaside Blvd (Route 47/Route 103 junction) and the future I-10 (LRN 173). The LRN 167 portion also appears to have been LRN 231. The LRN 167 portion was apparently defined in 1933; the LRN 270 portion was defined in 1959. Route 47 was realigned in 1983 to create Route 103; the new alignment did not exist in the highway system before 1983.
Note that the Terminal Island Freeway was not part of the state highway system before 1964. The segment from Seaside Blvd to Willow St. (3.1 mi) was designed by the State Division of Highways and constructed under State and US Navy contracts, and financed by the US Navy and Federal Aid Funds for $12 million. The State Division of Highways was reimbursed in full for its services. At one point, this was called the "Route 167 - Seaside Freeway".
This route was not allocated as part of the initial state signage of routes in 1934. It is unclear if any route was signed as Route 47 before 1964.
The portion between Route 110 to Route 103 and from Route 103 to Route 10 is unconstructed as freeway. Sections from Route 103 to Route 91 are part of the Los Angeles demonstration project. The state will assume maintenance when the route is brought up to standards, which includes adequate widening.
In August 2012, the CTC approved for future consideration of funding a project that will widen the Route 47/I-110 connector from one to two lanes (~ LA R0.076), extend the additional through lane on the northbound I-110 past the John S. Gibson Boulevard off-ramp, modify the northbound ramps at the I-110/John S. Gibson Boulevard interchange, and improve the intersection of John S. Gibson Boulevard and the northbound I-110 ramps. The project is programmed in the Trade Corridor Improvement Fund. The total estimated cost is $39,068,000 for capital and support. Construction is estimated to begin in Fiscal Year 2012-13. The scope, as described for the preferred alternative, is consistent with the project scope programmed in the Trade Corridor Improvement Fund.
Under Traffic Congestion Relief Program Project #44, there are plans to construct a grade-separated interchange at Ocean Boulevard and the Terminal Island Freeway (~ LA 3.691), and at Ocean Boulevard and Henry Ford Avenue, including the preparation of plans and specifications, estimates, and related support activities for design and construction. (January 2001 CTC Agenda, Agenda Item 2.1c.(1), project 44; Negative Impact EIR Report, March 2001 CTC Agenda Item 2.2c.(2)). This is currently scheduled for completion in February 2007.
Schuyler Heim Bridge (~ LA 3.966 to LA 4.123)
The Commodore Schuyler F. Heim Bridge (Schuyler
Heim Bridge) crosses the Cerritos Channel in the Port of Long Beach, was
commissioned by the United States Navy between 1946 and 1948, and is one of
three bridges that connect Terminal Island to the mainland. The bridge was
named for Commodore Schuyler F. Heim, commanding officer of the Terminal Island
Naval Base throughout World War II. The United States Navy completed
construction of the bridge in 1948 and then turned it over to the City of Long
Beach, which operated the bridge until 1974. The bridge is a vertical lift
structure with a 73-meter (m) (240-foot [ft]) span. It has an 820-ton movable
(lift) span that is supported by two crossbraced steel towers suspended by
cables, and a pair of 400+-ton counterweights. Historic records indicate that,
by 1951, the Schuyler Heim Bridge showed significant settlement caused by oil
extraction in Long Beach Harbor. In 1951, the towers were leaning approximately
3.8 centimeters (cm) (1.5 inches [in]) to the east, and the approach structures
had settled as much as 10.2 cm (4.0 in). The combined effects of settlement and
leaning created the potential to bind the moveable parts and cause the lift
span to fail. Subsequently, the towers were straightened, and additional work
was conducted on the approaches, truss bearings, guard rails, pier footings,
and lift span guide rollers. During the 1950s, the City of Long Beach pumped
groundwater into depleted oil fields beneath the harbor, which mitigated the
bridge’s rate of subsidence. However, the harbor continued to sink, requiring
bridge repairs. By the end of the decade, the shifting terrain beneath the
bridge foundations had caused cracks in the reinforced concrete pillars beneath
the bridge, requiring additional repairs. Throughout the 1960s, 1970s, and
1980s, bridge repairs continued for routine maintenance, as well as for damage
caused by trucks and marine vessels. In 1987, the Whittier Narrows earthquake
(Richter magnitude [M] 5.9) twisted a heavy girder in one of the towers. In
1988, Caltrans initiated a $2 million project to refurbish the bridge to
accommodate increased vehicular and marine traffic in response to expansion of
the ports. After the 1994 Northridge earthquake, the Schuyler Heim Bridge was
determined to be in need of seismic retrofit improvements. A Project Scope
Summary Report (PSSR) was completed in 1998 to program the retrofit project and
included the plans, specifications, and engineering estimate (PS&E) for the
retrofit. During the PS&E phase, it was determined that replacement of the
bridge would be more cost-effective and practical than retrofitting the
existing bridge to meet seismic requirements for a major earthquake. Therefore,
the retrofit design was halted. Subsequently, in consultation with the U.S.
Coast Guard, Caltrans developed several fixedspan bridge alternatives. These
alternatives met the project purpose of complying with the 1994 state mandate
for Caltrans to strengthen its bridges, and met the need to comply with seismic
requirements, reduce potential safety hazards to vehicular and marine traffic,
and provide a cost-effective solution to the ongoing deterioration of the
Caltrans has historically wanted an expressway in this area, as part of a
series of regional transportation improvements at the southern end of the
Alameda Corridor. The Route 47 Expressway is cited in the Southern California
Association of Governments Regional Transportation Plan. It would build upon a
network of local streets by constructing a high-capacity expressway connecting
the Ocean Boulevard/Route 47 Interchange with Alameda Street at Pacific Coast
Highway, thereby providing a missing link in the local transportation system.
The existing Route 47 extends east from the southern terminus of the Harbor
Freeway (I-110) in San Pedro, over the Vincent Thomas Bridge, along Seaside
Avenue and Ocean Boulevard, then north across the Cerritos Channel on the
Schuyler Heim Bridge, continuing north on Henry Ford Avenue, then onto Alameda
Street until its terminus at I-10 in downtown Los Angeles. The Route 103
Expressway is an alternative to the Route 47 Expressway. It also would build
upon a network of local streets by constructing a high-capacity expressway that
connects existing Route 103, beginning about 0.8 kilometer (km) (0.5 mile [mi])
north of Pacific Coast Highway, to Alameda Street at a point about 0.8 km (0.5
mi) south of the San Diego Freeway (I-405). Currently, to connect from Terminal
Island to Alameda Street, vehicles must travel 1.5 km (0.9 mi) north from Ocean
Boulevard, then exit at the Henry Ford Avenue off-ramp and travel north through
local streets, signalized intersections, and railroad crossings for about 2.0
km (1.2 mi) before joining Alameda Street just south of Pacific Coast Highway.
Alameda Street continues north of Pacific Coast Highway for 4.0 km (2.5 mi) and
connects to the I-405. About 5.5 km (3.4 mi) north of I-405, Alameda Street
connects to the Artesia Freeway (Route 91). The existing Route 103 begins north
of the Schuyler Heim Bridge at the Terminal Island Freeway, where Route 47
exits at Henry Ford Avenue. Route 103 continues north to Pacific Coast Highway,
where it ends. The Terminal Island Freeway continues past the terminus of Route
103 and ends at Willow Street/Sepulveda Boulevard.
As a result, Caltrans initiated a $351 million project to start in 2009 with the following goals:
There are a number of alternatives under consideration:
As of April 2008, Caltrans approved replacement of the Schuyler Heim and Gerald Desmond bridges. In March 2009, the CTC received notice of the draft EIR. In October 2009, the CTC approved the project for future consideration of finding, based on the final EIR.
In July 2010, the CTC approved amending the Proposition 1B Project Baseline Amendment for TCIF Project 16, Route 47 Port Access Expressway and Schuyler Heim Bridge Replacement to split the project into two segments. Segment 1 is for the replacement of the Schuyler Heim Bridge and Segment 2 is for the Route 47 Expressway. The split will allow Segment 1, the Schuyler Heim Bridge replacement, to begin construction in June 2011, while the Environmental Impact Report (EIR) and Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) for Segment 2 are litigated. In Segment 1, the existing lift bridge will be replaced by a fixed span structure, either cast in place or precast concrete. In Segment 2, an expressway (Route 47) will be constructed as an elevated viaduct between Route 103 over Henry Ford Avenue and Alameda Street, where it transitions down to the existing grade south of Route 1.
In March 2016, it was reported that the eastern
side of the new bridge replacing the old Schuyler Heim Lift Bridge is open and
both north and southbound traffic is being routed on it while the old lift
bridge is demolished and the western side of the new bridge is built. New
signage installed for northbound traffic on the Terminal Island Freeway
crossing the new bridge indicates that Route 47 exits off itself as “Exit
5” at Henry Ford Avenue. Exit 5 is an exit number for Route 47, as Route
103, which begins as a short concurrency with Route 47 at the Seaside Freeway
interchange, begins only 1½ miles south of this point. The old Schuyler Heim
vertical-lift bridge that opened on Jan. 10, 1948, is, piece by piece, now
being relegated to port history, deemed structurally obsolete and seismically
unsafe, no longer able to handle the growing traffic demand or provide the
vertical clearance needed for passing ships. In its place, the California
Department of Transportation is building a $180 million six-lane, fixed-span
concrete bridge straight across and over the Cerritos Channel shipping lane.
Rising nearly five stories above the water, the new bridge will provide plenty
of vertical room. The new three-quarter-mile-long bridge — expected to be
finished in early 2017 — will be safer and reduce maintenance costs,
according to Caltrans. It will allow traffic to move from Terminal Island
directly onto Alameda Street, bypassing three stop lights and five railroad
crossings, according to an article on the Port of Los Angeles website.
(Source: Occidental Tourist/Andy3175 @ AAroads, Jan/Feb. 2016)
In December 2016, the CTC approved the following allocation: 07-LA-47 2.7/5.8 Route 47 in the cities of Long Beach and Los Angeles from Ocean Boulevard to transition of Route 103 and Henry Ford Avenue along Route 47. Replace Schuyler Heim Bridge Outcome/Output: Supplemental funds are needed to Complete Construction. Total revised amount $24,900,000.
According to Daniel Thomas in May 2004, there are trailblazer signs posted at least three times on Alameda Street North at Carson Street, Del Amo Boulevard and Santa Fe Avenue. There were some southbound as well. This is the section that was reconstructed. There were not any signs posted south of I-405, nor along Henry Ford Avenue, although there is a lot of construction happening on that section.
Overall statistics for Route 47:
The portion of this route from Seaside Blvd in San Pedro to Sepulveda Blvd. in Long Beach is the "Seaside Freeway". It was named by House Resolution 144 in 1959.
Some Caltrans District VII information shows this as the "Terminal Island" Freeway. The first segment opened in 1948. Terminal Island was originally named "Isla Raza de Buena Gente" (Island of the Race of Good People). Early in the American era, the island became known as Rattlesnake Island. In 1911, after the Los Angeles Terminal Railway had built a line from the city to the island, it assumed its present name. Generally, the Terminal Island Freeway is really Route 103.
Bridge 53-1471 in San Pedro (LA 000.86) was originally called the "San
Pedro-Terminal Island Bridge". It was built in 1961. It was renamed the
"Vincent Thomas Memorial Bridge" by Assembly Concurrent Resolution 131,
Chapter 226, in 1961. It honors Assemblyman Vincent Thomas from San Pedro's, an
orphan from the streets and wharves who went on to become a State Assemblyman
for the 52nd District in San Pedro. Vincent Thomas moved to San Pedro from
Oakland in 1919. In 1928, he graduated from San Pedro High School. He received
a Bachelor Degree from the University of Santa Clara in 1932 and attended the
University of Santa Clara and Loyola Law Schools from 1932 to 1936. He worked
as a minor sports coach and PE instructor while in college. He also played
football for Santa Clara. He was married and had a daughter and son. He was
elected to the California Assembly in 1940. In 1962, he was elevated to Dean of
the Assembly. He also served as Chairman of the Committee on Intergovernmental
Relations. He was still in the Assembly when his namesake bridge opened in
1963. He was the individual most responsible for its realization. He served in
the Assembly at least through 1975. As for the bridge itself, it was completed
in 1963, and was the first bridge of its kind to be constructed on pilings.
Construction required 92,000 tons of Portland cement, 13,000 tons of
lightweight concrete, 14,100 tons of steel and 1,270 tons of suspension cable.
It is designed to withstand winds of 90 miles per hour, double that required by
code. The overall length of the bridge is 6,060 feet (4th longest in
California, 76th longest in the world), with a main suspension span
of 1,500 feet and 500-foot spans on either side. The bridge carried an average
of 48,000 cars and trucks per day in 2005. Its roadway is 52 feet wide between
the curbs and stands 185 feet above the harbor. Its towers are 335 feet tall.
The bridge is painted annually by nine Caltrans workers, who cover all 1.6
million square feet of steel siding and cables with three to four coats of
oil-based paint, totaling 54,800 gallons. They start with a terra cotta-colored
primer, followed by two to three finish coats in the bridge's distinctive
green. The final coat used on visible surfaces is flecked with silver, lending
the structure its iridescent glow. Much of the paint is sprayed on, and crews
must drape sheets of vinyl below them to catch any paint that might fall into
and pollute the water. The bridge's heavy cables require particular care:
Workers don large mitts that they douse in paint and then clasp the cables to
coat them. A separate crew is responsible for checking and replacing the
bridge's 278 light bulbs, from the tower-top beacons to navigation lights below
the roadbed. Other crews inspect the bridge to assure that its cables and welds
have not been weakened by weather or age. The bridge was dedicated on Saturday,
September 28, 1963. Doing the honors in 100-degree heat were L.A. Mayor Sam
Yorty, State Controller Alan Cranston, L.A. Supervisor Burton Chace, L.A. City
Councilman John S. Gibson, Sen. Thomas Kuchel and former governor Goodwin J.
Knight. Organizers had hoped to get Governor Pat Brown and President John F.
Kennedy to attend, but they were up in Northern California dedicating the
Whiskeytown Dam and Reservoir and couldn't make it. The bridge officially
opened to traffic on Friday, November 15, 1963 at 12:01 a.m. Vincent Thomas
paid the first toll, which was 25¢.
[Information adapted from the San Pedro Chamber of Commerce's page on the Vincent Thomas Bridge, the Los Angeles Almanac page on Vincent Thomas, and a 2006-01-10 Los Angeles Times article on the bridge]
Bridge 53-2618*, over the Cerritos Flood Control Channel in Los Angeles
County (~ LA 3.966 to LA 4.123), is named the "Commodore Schuyler F. Heim
Memorial Bridge". It was built in 1946. The name is not official. Commador
Schuyler Franklin Heim was born in Plymouth IN in 1884. He advanced from ensign
to commadore, and saw duty in battleships, cruisers, repair ships, and
destroyers. He served at the Naval Operating Base on Terminal Island between
1940 and 1945, and was commandant of Naval Activities in the Los Angeles/Long
Beach area. He was awarded the Legion of Merit Award. He was also well known
for his Judo skills.
[Thanks to the research librarian at the Naval Academy in Annopolis MD for providing this information.]
*: Not in the Caltrans Bridge Log.
The following segments are designated as Classified Landscaped Freeway:
|County||Route||Starting PM||Ending PM|
[SHC 253.1] Entire route (not completely constructed). Added to the Freeway and Expressway system in 1959.
The route that became LRN 47 was first defined in the 1919 Third Bond Issue as running from Orland to Chico. It was extended in 1933 from [LRN 3] near Chico to [LRN 29] near Deer Creek Meadows. It was captured in the 1935 highway code as:
As defined in 1963, Route 48 was the route from Route 138 near Gorman to Route 122 near the San Bernardino county line.In 1968, Chapter 282 changed the origin of the route to be "Route 138 east of Gorman".
A 1965 planning map shows that this was to have been freeway; never upgraded.
This segment was LRN 267 (defined in 1959), and was unconstructed before 1964. Prior to 1964, this segment was signed as part of Route 138, and constituted the constructed portion fo LRN 59, established in the 1919 Third Bond Act (Lancaster to Baileys). In 1959, LRN 59 was rerouted to the new Metropolitan Bypass routing through Lake Hughes, and the older routing was renumbered as LRN 267.
For information on pre-1964 Route 48, see below.
Note: There is seemingly a Route 48 route marker postmile at the Calaveras-Tuolomne county line on O’Byrne’s Ferry Road between Route 108 and Route 4 near Copperopolis. It is just past the bridge that carries the road over the Stanislaus River. Currently this road is signed as Calaveras County Route E15. The key word is "seemingly", because investigation determined that this is a Calaveras county road marker: The CAL in this case represents the first 3 letters of the County, Calaveras. The 48 is the county road number. Each County-maintained road is assigned a number; they have other similar markers on roads in the County-maintained system. The problem is that this is almost identical to a post mile for Route 48 if Route 48 was in Calaveras County.
[SHC 253.1] Entire route. Added to the Freeway and Expressway system in 1959.
Overall statistics for Route 48:
US 48 was on the original map of US routes in 1926, running from Stockton to Oakland and San Jose, along what is nowadays I-580. In 1928, US 48 was signed in California. It ran from French Camp to San Jose via Tracy and Hayward. By 1935, this had been renumbered as part of US-50 (LRN 5) using a routing that is now I-580 and I-205 (from Oakland along I-580 until the I-205/I-580 junction, and then along I-205 to Tracy; however, there are some reports that include I-238 in Oakland as part of the original US 48, and that indicate it was numbered as US 101E. There are also some maps that show Route 237 as part of US 48 (nee US 42).
The route that would become LRN 48 was first defined in the 1919 Third Bond Act as running from McDonalds to the mouth of the Navarro River. This was captured in the 1935 highway code as:
[LRN 1] at McDonald's to the mouth of the Navarro River
It was amended later that year by Chapter 274 to begin at "[LRN 1] near Cloverdale via McDonald's"
In 1963, Chapter 1698 would have removed the "via McDonald's", but that was overtaken by the 1963 renumbering.
This route was signed as Route 128.
Return to State Highway Routes